CD Reviews

The Union Of Sinners & Saints - 'The Union Of Sinners & Saints' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 26, 2017    
0.0 (0)
504   0   1   0   0   0

If you aren't that bothered by Christian lyrics and love well played Hard Rock, then 'The Union Of Sinners & Saints' is an album many of you will love.

The Union Of Sinners & Saints is, I suppose, what you would call a "super-group" in the field of Christian Rock featuring, as it does, members past and present of Whiteheart and Petra – namely Billy Smiley, Anthony Sallee, Jason Fowler and the superb Petra vocalist John Schlitt. There's also the added bonus of Dann Huff writing and playing on a couple of songs. I hope that made many of you sit up and take notice? On this self-titled effort, you'll find nine brand new songs plus glorious re-workings of Petra's 'Beyond Belief' and 'Independence Day'. I'm aware that some music enthusiasts don't like preachy lyrics because people find them off putting. On this album, however, they aren't as up-front as on some other Christian albums which makes this release more of a straight-ahead Melodic Rock album than it does a Christian one.

'Rise Up' starts things off with a bang. Schlitt is on fine form and his amazing voice immediately grabs your attention. When surrounded by the calibre of musicians and song-writers that he is, you know right away that you're listening to something special; this track also features Huff on lead guitar.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Brother To Brother' follows and it's just a great song, full of lovely melodies and is catchy as hell (can I say that?). 'The Things We Do' has a Funky edge to it whilst 'Old Guys Rule' sees TUOS&S playing with an almost Punk-like attitude and enjoying themselves immensely as they do. The mid-paced ballad 'My Offering' is just another wonderful track and finally, of the new songs, we have the very Whiteheart-like 'Bittersweet'. A track that is again loaded with attitude and shows that "old guys" do still have what it takes to write and record great music. Also, let's not overlook the two re-workings of '...Belief' and '...Day' which have always been great songs and both work so well on this new record.

I've got to say that if you aren't that bothered by Christian lyrics and love well played Hard Rock, then 'The Union Of Sinners & Saints' is an album many of you will, just like me, love. If, however, Stryper, Petra, Bloodgood and their ilk don't float your boat, then I'd avoid this release.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 2 hours ago
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us