CD Reviews

Apollo - 'Waterdevils' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 26, 2017    
0.0 (0)
901   0   1   0   0   0






We say it far too often, but this really is an album that's "all killer, no filler". Be a devil and treat yourself.

Apostolos "Apollo" Papathanasio (to give him his full Sunday title) is of Swedish birth but Greek ancestry and 'Waterdevils' is his first solo album. Opting for a life as a Rock/Metal vocalist when he was still in his teens, Apollo has spent over two decades fronting numerous bands, the most notable being Time Requiem, Meduza, and Evil Masquerade. However, it was in 2005, whilst mixing an album for TR, that a chance meeting with guitarist and fellow Greek Gus G (Mystic Prophecy, Dream Evil, Ozzy Osbourne) eventually led to him fronting Greek Power Metal band Firewind. Apollo remained with the band until 2013 and recorded four albums before concentrating his vocal prowess on his second job, Stoner Metal band Spiritual Beggars.

Since then, Apollo has been busy writing and recording material initially intended to be used under a "project band" moniker, but friends and collaborators persuaded him to emerge from the shadows and become a solo artist for the first time. 'Waterdevils' features a cornucopia of Classic Rock influences from the late seventies to the mid-eighties. I picked out nuances from Uriah Heep, Deep Purple, Kiss, Rainbow, the Scorpions and early Iron Maiden ... but I'm sure you'll find a multitude of others. That said, this is not a copycat album – this is clearly Apollo (supported by a cast of close musician friends) flexing his exceptional vocal chords, unassuming guitar skills and delivering an opus that reflects his impregnated love of the Classic Rock genre.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Opener 'Revolution For The Brave' sets the bar high; up-tempo, galloping riffage with a Metal edge and a contagious chorus to boot. Initially, the vocal sounded very Paul Stanley-esque but as the album evolves I could clearly hear Ian Gillan, David Byron, David Coverdale and Ronnie James Dio influences too. 'Liberate Yourself', 'Buried In A Flame', 'Safe And Sound', 'Crossing The Lines' and 'Chasing Shadows' all display the Classic Rock fundamentals, but each song has more than enough variation to maintain interest and enjoyment. On the home straight, 'Rise Up', 'I Need Rock 'N' Roll' and 'Through The Fire' exhibit a more commercial element. 'Fallen Endlessly' and 'Stop' deserve special mentions – the former is a sumptuous, slow-tempo song whilst the latter evokes resemblances to Dio's halcyon days.

We say it far too often, but this really is an album that's "all killer, no filler". Be a devil and treat yourself.

Dave Crompton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us