CD Reviews

Roth Brock Project - 'Roth Brock Project'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 26, 2017    
0.0 (0)
231   0   1   0   0   0

In common with other Frontiers "projects", Roth Brock Project isn't perfect, but it is illuminated with flashes of inspiration.

Giant's 'Promised Land', arguably one of the most underrated and overlooked Melodic Rock albums of the new millennium, received a lukewarm reception largely down to the fact that the band's pivotal founding member, vocalist & guitarist Dann Huff, chose to step aside in favour of his vastly more lucrative career as a Country music producer – leaving just the rhythm section of his brother David (drums) and bassist Mike Brignardello remaining.

Enter Terry Brock (Strangeways) and John Roth (Winger) on vocals and guitar respectively. Whilst replacing the irreplaceable (listen to Giant's debut 'Last Of The Runaways' for irrefutable proof) was always an impossible task, the resulting album nevertheless exceeded the expectations of this most discerning fan. While the towering Giant seems to have finally toppled, that experience created a lasting musical bond between Brock and Roth (the latter handling all instrumentation apart from drums on 'Roth Brock Project').

'Young Gun' kicks off with Roth delivering an Eddie Van Halen-reminiscent, tightly-picked riff overlaid with a delectable lead guitar run, though whilst the ingredients for a strong opener are present, it's ultimately just an opening act for the barnstorming second track. 'What's It To Ya' is the album's standout number and, with a pulsating swing groove, it immediately brings to mind Giant, while the audacious mid-section combines a 'Kashmir'-like rhythmic instrumental passage with a 'Cherry Pie' style Rap, courtesy of Roth.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Brock excels on 'If That's What It Takes' – he's undoubtedly one of the best current US Rock vocalists – while 'Young Again' and its amusingly self-deprecating lyrics about ageing demonstrates that these Southern gents don't take themselves too seriously. 'We Are' opens with a menacing Dokken-esque strut while Roth shared with me that 'Distant Voices' is a heartfelt tribute to Jimi Jamison and Fergie Frederiksen.

In common with other Frontiers "projects" (Sweet & Lynch, Revolution Saints, etc.) Roth Brock Project isn't perfect, but it is illuminated with flashes of inspiration – and in '...Ya', it's served up one of my favourite tracks of 2016.

Caesar Barton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 21 hours ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us