CD Reviews

Smokey Fingers - 'Promised Land' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 01, 2017    
0.0 (0)
486   0   1   0   0   0





It may not come from the deep south but it emits more genuine and heartfelt Southerness than a whole host of legitimate Southern Rockers.

When this first arrived I originally had no biography so had no clue as to who or what Smokey Fingers was. Fast forward a couple of spins and I was insanely raving about the twelve tracks on offer, so much so I'd be willing to bet everything that America's deep south had unearthed yet another hidden gem. Imagine my surprise and shock when I was informed that SM came from Lodi, Italy – impossible! It turns out this four-piece, consisting of Gianluca Paterniti, Daniele Vaccini, Fabrizio Costa and Diego Dragoni, must have bourbon running through their veins and spent all their time listening to The Allman Brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Blackfoot because this is "the most genuine sounding" Southern Hard Rock album I've heard in ages.

These boys can not only write and play but singer Paterniti has a voice to die for – imagine a cross between Paul Rodgers, Steve Lee and Johnny Van Zandt and you wouldn't be far off. Take a listen to the holy trinity of 'Black Madame', 'Rattesnake Trail' and 'The Road Is My Home' and I guarantee you'll be shaking your head in disbelief at the quality. 'The Basement', with its 'Play That Funky Music' type riff Southernised, is a belter as is the Skynyrd-influenced 'Floorwashing Machine Man' and the gritty 'Stage'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

I could extoll this album's virtues for hours, taking you through track by track. Such is the quality on offer here this release deserves far more column inches than I'll be granted. It's rare that a band of this quality arrives so unnoticed but that is about to change. If we cast our minds back a few short years, Blackberry Smoke and The Cadillac Three were two bands that people were talking about in revered tones and look how life has changed for them. Smokey Fingers are those bands, as loathed as I am to make comparisons, but if you like the idea of BS, Tangier, The Answer and LS making an album, then 'Promised...' is pretty much what they'd come up with.

I cannot praise this enough but I will say if you can only buy one this. It may not come from the deep south but it emits more genuine and heartfelt Southerness than a whole host of legitimate Southern Rockers. 'Promised Land' has just crept into "Album Of The Year' contention for me... actually, admitting it's only in contention is rather disrespectful.

Kieran Dargan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 10 hours ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us