CD Reviews

Luca Turilli's Rhapsody - 'Prometheus: The Dolby Atmos Experience + Cinematic And Live' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 01, 2017    
0.0 (0)
254   0   1   0   0   0

A must for Luca Turilli and Rhapsody fans or a good package to introduce yourself to this group's back catalogue.

When I spoke to Luca Turilli before his last album 'Prometheus' came out, he told me "Please don't listen to it with silly little headphones on your laptop!" Wise words, because to truly appreciate the bombastic, Symphonic and Cinematic music of these Italian legends you want to feel this music vibrating off the walls. This is doubly true now that the record has been re-mixed using audio-Blu-ray-disc in Dolby Atmos. In layman terms it's like the experience you have at the cinema where there are speakers all around, including the ceiling, placing you in an "acoustic honeycomb".

As a result, this is a milestone record as it's the first album ever recorded using the technology and if you want to show what the aural technology can do then who better to demonstrate with than Turilli's cacophony of Classical music and Metal. If you've got this type of entertainment technology at home, then this is the version for you. If you don't, this package is still an attractive draw as it also contains two live CDs containing a whopping twenty-seven tracks with a running time of more than two hours, enough to satiate the appetite of even the most ardent Rhapsody fan.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This comprehensive live offering was recorded in 2012 and 2016 across Europe. The nature of recording songs from different concerts and times means you don't get the flow of a natural concert and the change from track to track has that momentary silence which breaks the immersion of feeling like you are actually at the live event.

The music covers a wide range of Turilli's output; from the very first Rhapsody album you get the likes of 'Land Of Immortals' and 'Warrior Of Ice', his solo work is covered with 'War Of The Universe', 'Demonhearts' and 'The Ancient Forest Of Elves' while 'Ascending To Infinity' and 'Rosenkreuz' from his more recent records are aired too. Not all his albums get a look in and I could do without the drum and bass solos, but it is a fairly comprehensive compilation of Turilli's live work.

There is no denying Turilli is a mercurial creative force and between the state of the art sound of 'Prometheus: The Dolby Atmos Experience' and the sheer breadth of material on offer on the 'Cinematic and Live' discs, it all adds up to make this a great document of what the Italian Symphonic maestro is capable of. It's a must for Luca Turilli and Rhapsody fans or a good package to introduce yourself to this group's back catalogue.

Duncan Jamieson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 10 hours ago
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with AndrĂ© Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us