CD Reviews

Love Child - 'A Whole Lotta Sassy'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 03, 2017    
0.0 (0)
209   0   1   0   0   0






For fans of TBC' style of Blues, this is an essential investment.

My first impression of Love Child is that they are Australia's answer to The Black Crowes; an old-school, Blues-influenced Rock band that's drenched in attitude. The seventies influences are immediately evident from the opening track 'Love And Happiness'. Love Child, however, are no one-trick pony. They merge seventies style Rock with Blues and a "whole lotta sassy" (attitude to you and I), while band members Dennis Val (guitar/vocals), Steve Hancock (vocals/harp), Garry Daglish (bass) and James Pool (drums) have collectively delivered a wealth of great songs on 'Whole Lotta Sassy'.

'Teach Me' tips its hat to US Rockers Rival Sons whilst 'I Can't Breathe' has more attitude than a (horny) teenager at a school disco. 'Watching The River Flow' is a slower number that just oozes class, particularly the understated fret-board playing of Val.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Like A Child', released as a single, has a Country edge underlying Hancock's Blues-drenched vocals alongside a touch of gravel that's ideally suited for this style of music. 'Time Or The Tide' introduces a just a little Motown to the Blues whereas 'Needed Your Shelter' has a British Classic Rock vibe similar to The Rolling Stones, Joe Cocker, Led Zeppelin, etc.

'Miracles Ain't Right', a classy ballad, and 'She Hides Her Soul' would have been big hits for TBC and both maintain the momentum produced on the first half of the album. The glorious 'Stay' features some Hammond Organ and yet more serious guitar work by Val. 'I Can See' concludes the album in style and just makes you want to hit the repeat button.

For fans of TBC' style of Blues, this is an essential investment.

Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 16 hours, 25 minutes ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us