CD Reviews

New England - 'Live At The Regent Theatre' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 03, 2017    
0.0 (0)
377   0   1   0   0   0

This album is beautifully recorded with a mix that lets every instrument breathe and shine while the vocal harmonies are tight and on the money.

Back in 1979 along came a band that brought together pretty much all of my early musical influences; from the sixties and the melodic sensibilities of The Beatles, The Moody Blues and The Move through to the early seventies Pop of Badfinger and onto the lush multi-layered sounds of early Queen and ELO.

What I got was New England, a band out of Boston, Massachusetts (naturally) who lasted just three (but a glorious three) Melodic Hard Rock albums, but who left an indelible mark upon me. Fast forward to 2016 and this year sees the band very much back in business with a live album recorded in 2014.

This album is essentially a "greatest hits" collection, taking choice cuts from the band's catalogue. The band waste no time in making a statement with the adrenaline rush of opener 'Seal It With A Kiss' and the pounding 'L5' before they move effortlessly through different styles, such is their expertise.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Explorer Suite' is an all-out Prog/keyboard extravaganza while the truly beautiful and serene 'Shall I Run Away' and 'Turn Out The Light', with the latter's lovely Beatles-like keyboard sound, gives me goose bumps. The band, however, is really at its very best when they combine the rough with the soft and subtle, no more so than in the truly sublime 'Nothing To Fear' and their trademark song 'Don't Ever Wanna Lose Ya'. Here the keyboards of Jimmy Waldo really come to the fore with him playing foil to John Fannon's smouldering guitar riffs while in the bottom end Gary Shea's melodic bass runs and drummer Hirsh Gardner's pounding, strong drum accents create a sound that for me has no equal.

Their songs still sound fresh and vital, coupled with a real sense of drama and the epic with "songs" being the key word; New England has always had an inherent sense of melody and consequently everything here exudes sheer class. This album is beautifully recorded with a mix that lets every instrument breathe and shine while the vocal harmonies are tight and on the money.

The band have seemingly lost nothing in the intervening years and to drive home that point the album finishes with the recently recorded studio song 'I Know There's Something Here', which sees the aforementioned influences coalesce into something quite unique and wonderful. With the promise of more new music to come, I for one can't wait.

Malcolm Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 16 hours, 19 minutes ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us