CD Reviews

Burning Point - 'The Blaze' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 06, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1641   0   1   0   0   0





A masterpiece.

Finland's Power Metal band Burning Point's latest release is the first studio album to feature ex-Battle Beast vocalist Nitte Valo, who joined BP in 2014. It sees her adding a new dimension to their sound with her distinctive vocal delivery and sees a return to a more aggressive style which was apparent on their releases early on in their career.

'Master Them All' launches proceedings with its Symphonic guitar intro and moves at break-neck speed whilst retaining an explosive catchiness to the track. Pete Ahonen and Pekka Kolivuori's guitar parts twist and wind around each other before locking into a powerhouse heavy rhythm. This is, perhaps, one of the best tracks on the album. Introducing an element of pomp and melody with its keyboard parts and followed by a heavy riff is 'The Time Has Come' and it works really well. The riff for 'Incarnation' has a passing resemblance to Ozzy Osbourne's (or Overland's!) 'Shot In The Dark' and the more you listen to Valo's voice, the more it brings back memories of a certain Ronnie James Dio. 'The Lie', which is less Metal and more Hard Rock, really brings this home and that's no bad thing!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

All the songs found here, apart from one (which we will get to shortly) are penned by Ahonen. His ability to inject energy and feeling and reel in the audience is a true gift. He even adds a Neo-Classical touch to 'Dark Winged Angel' which is in stark contrast to the Dark Metal fury of 'Chaos Rising'. The album closer, which although not written by Ahonen has, no doubt, been arranged by him, sees the Lee Aaron classic 'Metal Queen' get the BP touch and reaches melting point! Keyboard padding meets dark chorused vocals in between Valo's no holds barred vocal performance and stunning guitar solos. A risky song to do justice to but they've succeeded!

Burning Point have produced a masterpiece here, one which manages to be fresh whilst using musical soundscapes that link to the best of Rock and Metal heritage. All tracks can stand up on their own and the album will surely see them gaining new fans as Valo's voice weaves its spell.

Paul Sabin

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by