Burning Point - 'The Blaze' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/1a/73/22/Burning-Point-The-Blaze-92-1488831173.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 06, 2017    
0.0 (0)
541   0   1   0   0   0





A masterpiece.

Finland's Power Metal band Burning Point's latest release is the first studio album to feature ex-Battle Beast vocalist Nitte Valo, who joined BP in 2014. It sees her adding a new dimension to their sound with her distinctive vocal delivery and sees a return to a more aggressive style which was apparent on their releases early on in their career.

'Master Them All' launches proceedings with its Symphonic guitar intro and moves at break-neck speed whilst retaining an explosive catchiness to the track. Pete Ahonen and Pekka Kolivuori's guitar parts twist and wind around each other before locking into a powerhouse heavy rhythm. This is, perhaps, one of the best tracks on the album. Introducing an element of pomp and melody with its keyboard parts and followed by a heavy riff is 'The Time Has Come' and it works really well. The riff for 'Incarnation' has a passing resemblance to Ozzy Osbourne's (or Overland's!) 'Shot In The Dark' and the more you listen to Valo's voice, the more it brings back memories of a certain Ronnie James Dio. 'The Lie', which is less Metal and more Hard Rock, really brings this home and that's no bad thing!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

All the songs found here, apart from one (which we will get to shortly) are penned by Ahonen. His ability to inject energy and feeling and reel in the audience is a true gift. He even adds a Neo-Classical touch to 'Dark Winged Angel' which is in stark contrast to the Dark Metal fury of 'Chaos Rising'. The album closer, which although not written by Ahonen has, no doubt, been arranged by him, sees the Lee Aaron classic 'Metal Queen' get the BP touch and reaches melting point! Keyboard padding meets dark chorused vocals in between Valo's no holds barred vocal performance and stunning guitar solos. A risky song to do justice to but they've succeeded!

Burning Point have produced a masterpiece here, one which manages to be fresh whilst using musical soundscapes that link to the best of Rock and Metal heritage. All tracks can stand up on their own and the album will surely see them gaining new fans as Valo's voice weaves its spell.

Paul Sabin

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 8 hours ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA www.berdoo.com
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us