CD Reviews

Jack Russell's Great White - 'He Saw It Comin'' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 06, 2017    
0.0 (0)
314   0   1   0   0   0

I can't see any reason why a Melodic Hard Rock fan wouldn't instantly fall in love with this album.

I had a preconceived idea of how 'He Saw It Comin'' would sound and was really apprehensive to press play for the first time. So many bands and musicians we love from the past have released albums in recent times that are quite far removed from their origins and, whilst this does not always mean it's going to be bad, it does give me a sense of dread and potential impending doom! Jack Russell's Great White not only deliver a cracking Melodic Hard Rock album, which comes straight out of the genre's golden era, but also reflect on that distant time with a loving affection. No down tuned guitars! No ramping up the heaviness! No attempt to appease a new generation of Rock fans who are into darker and much heavier music! After my first spin, I was left with a cheesy grin and a sudden desire to get a massive perm, wear a tasselled leather jacket and was wondering what happened to those snakeskin leather boots?

It's not a retro album, Russell just lovingly pays homage to the bands heyday and acknowledges the aspects of their music that made long-time fans clamoured for them in the first place. Stylistically it is really varied too, you have big Hard Rock stadium anthems alongside more subtle and infectious driving Rockers and warm heartfelt ballads. The album as a whole has an uplifting tone to it, it's big and bold and so easy to enjoy. Russell's vocals hit the spot just right and he sounds fantastic throughout, delivering some amazingly delicious vocal melodies.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Songs like 'Sign Of Times' and 'Crazy' will keep fans of the band's signature groove-based Hard Rock sound happy, while those who like the smoother, hook-based Rockers will be instantly won over by 'She Moves Me' and 'Blame It On The Night'. The acoustic ballad 'Anything For You' would have been a runaway radio hit back in the day and I just can't get enough of its warmth and heartfelt beauty.

I can't see any reason why a Melodic Hard Rock fan wouldn't instantly fall in love with this album that's full of memorable choruses, Hard Rock riffs and a loving affection for the genre's heyday! If like me you're an unashamed genre diehard, you're going to be playing this album a lot and very LOUDLY!

Paul 'Woody' Woodward

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 21 hours ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us