Thunder / Cats In Space Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 04, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1565   0   1   0   0   0



Thunder / Cats In Space - Hammersmith Apollo, London (UK) - 28 March 2017

Cats In Space always remind me of a Rock opera due to their obvious influences from Queen. Apparently singer Paul Manzi was experiencing chest pains this evening but I have to say hats off to him as I would not have known unless I was told. This was their first time at Hammersmith apparently, however, they certainly looked like they belonged in this well-known venue and certainly rose to the occasion. I personally prefer their Rockier material and they delivered a selection of hard and soft tonight, presumably to suit all tastes of the audience.

Thunder Live 1

Thunder showed a lot of confidence in their new material and did three numbers from the new album early in the set, including 'No One Gets Out Alive' as an opener and two more towards the end. The new material came over very well with the audience and in particular 'Right From The Start' was a great showcase for Danny Bowes' voice which is soulful with an exquisite Bluesy crack. You've either got it or you haven't, you can't learn it in school and Bowes has it is spades. With a beautiful mellow solo from Luke Morley to close, there's no doubting the class of the material on offer. However, it is with old favourite 'Back Street Symphony' that the crowd really woke up, waved their hands, sang and performed on cue. Bowes relished the role of conductor tonight and he was very clear and direct in what he expected from the crowd and they loved it! He got them to increase intensity with the smallest gesture and they raised the roof!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

However, it was the truly beautiful 'Don't Wait For Me' and 'Love Walked In' that took the prize tonight. The crowd sang along to the stunning A Capella verses and there was some masterful Bluesy playing from Morley who mainlined artists such as Muddy Waters and betrayed years of practice and worship in front of the altar of the Blues. Bowes makes the crowd wait for a good minute or two for the final "don't wait for me... goodbye" but fortunately he killed it and it was by no means an anti climax. In fact, it was a spine tingling delivery full of emotion. He essentially summoned all the energy of the crowd and reflected it back in an unforgettable moment that would have been worth the ticket price alone. He then withdrew to leave Morley to riff away with his head back in passion and the rest of the band to punctuate and underline the drama with a staccato military band beat to the climax.

Thunder Live 2

An equally great version of 'Love Walked In' was delivered and the greatness of the composition reminded us all that these guys really could do this till they are ninety because, like all great music, their material transcends boundaries and this song could be played in almost any genre. Grand drama over, it was time to enjoy the rest of the show and we got party songs 'I Love You More Than Rock 'N' Roll' and 'Dirty Love'. There was also a cameo appearance from Lynne Jackaman bringing a sixties vibe to 'She Likes The Cocaine'. Sadly, from where I was, it was hard to hear her, which was a shame, but it was a nice bit of diversity in the show.

Thunder really have reached the absolute definition of Classic Rock. It's time to relax and enjoy living legend status and definitely not time to hang up their gear for good.

Dawn Osborne

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by