CD Reviews

Jim Steinman - 'Bad For Good' (landmark album review) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 19, 2017    
0.0 (0)
799   0   1   0   0   0







The CD is still out there; I recommend buying it and turning off the light, and you'll be left in the dark again.

This is a Rocktopia™ landmark review (album review no. 4982, pls. click HERE for more information)

This retrospection of of Jim Steinman's 'Bad For Good' is well timed, as its songs, along with those of 'Bat Out Of Hell', form the story of the new stage musical 'Bat Out Of Hell'. The story being about a futuristic Peter Pan and there were obvious clues back in 1981 to this; the cover by Richard Corben shows a be-winged Peter Pan and an adolescent Wendy and there is a song 'Lost Boys And Golden Girls' – obvious isn't it?

Steinman famously recorded this album himself as Meatloaf had lost his voice at the time. Tired of waiting for him, and I somewhat suspect he always wanted to be rockstar himself, Steinman jumped into the breech. He has a respectable Tenor voice but many critics unfavourably and unfairly compared him to Meatloaf and the album was subsequently overlooked (however it did get to #7 in the UK chart). Rory Dodd actually sang some of the technically harder songs (e.g. 'Surfs Up') but Steinman makes a triumphant and glorious go of things on the title track, 'Out Of The Frying Pan (And Into the Fire)' and the faltering but sublime 'Left In The Dark'. Nearly all of the album's tracks were redone on future Meatloaf albums but Steinman's effort, due to his more mortal vocals, hold a value of their own.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

As for the musicians, a similar line-up to that of 'Bat Out Of Hell' appear – essentially the E Street Band (Max Weinberg, Roy Bittan), Utopia (Todd Rundgren, Kasim Sulton), Karla DeVito and other top drawer players. Highlights are Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing on the duelling solo at the end of 'Stark Raving Love' – that has to be heard to be believed – and the bombastic drumming of Max Weinberg throughout. With otherworldly playing, existential lyrics and with a seemingly carte blanche from Epic to do what he wanted to, Steinman delivered an album transcending excess. I forgot to mention the New York Philharmonic Orchestra playing the intro song 'The Storm' (picture the Lost Boys turning up on a stormy beach) and also accompanying the mourning Steinman on 'Left In The Dark' – this was excess that could never be repeated. To expand on this excess, I read that Steinman's concept was not to just send out the record to the radio stations but also to give out the right hi-fi system so the songs would be heard at their best!

The CD is still out there; I recommend buying it and turning off the light, and you'll be left in the dark again. Also check out wonderful and bizarre videos of the key songs on the Internet and see Steinman's classic soliloquy 'Life And Death And An American Guitar'.

Rob McKenzie

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 19 hours ago
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us