Deep Purple - '24 Carat Purple' (landmark album review) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
892   0   1   0   0   0






This incarnation of Deep Purple is perhaps the most pure and undiluted by other influences.

This is a Rocktopia™ landmark review (album review no. 4986, pls. click HERE for more information)

Younger readers may well have a significant memory based on the purchase of their first cassette, or even CD, but those of us of an older persuasion have another memory option – the strange large round disc housed in paper liner which in turn slid into a card sleeve which often contained a raft of information about the purchase. I am of course referring to the vinyl record, something which has seen somewhat of a resurgence in recent years.

At the tender age of eight I took my very first steps into owning a "proper" record. By that I mean I'd been given various child's nursery rhyme and TV favourite records to listen to, but until this point I'd never been allowed to choose my own album to buy. So, with some record tokens (remember them?) tightly grasped in my hand I ventured into the magical world of WH Smiths record department. Now, where does one start to make a choice from the diverse collection on offer? Well, although I didn't own any recordings by bands or artists, I had been listening to the radio and remembered certain names which were looking familiar on the shelves – Cream, Ozzy Osbourne, The Osmonds, and Deep Purple. Now as I flicked through the brightly coloured sleeves Osbourne looked scary, The Osmonds just didn't hold my attention and Cream's offerings didn't give me any clue as to the content. However, upon reaching the Deep Purple section, sat there in its gold coloured sleeve was '24 Carat Purple'. A closer inspection revealed that this record contained a selection of tracks from other albums the band had released. I later found out that this concept was called a compilation! A brightly coloured sleeve, a name I'd heard of, pictures of the bands albums from which tracks for this release were lifted, were pointing to this as a potential purchase. The decision was sealed when my father, who was an avid keyboard & organ fan, pointed out to me that they had a keyboard player called Jon Lord who was quite good. Decision made, tokens exchanged and the deal was in the bag quite literally.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

On to the important bit – the music. 'Woman From Tokyo' kicks things off with Ian Paice smashing out a heavy rhythm and Ritchie Blackmore pumping out an echoey riff blending with Lord's swirling organ, before Ian Gillan's attention grabbing gravel-filled vocal takes it to another level. Everything is thrown into this track, Bluesy piano, soft vocal passages, and Gillan's trademark screams. What a track to start with. 'Fireball' which follows is in a similar situation, but pulls in a fast paced sixties feel replete with tambourine and a bass solo, and whilst the musicianship is brilliant the song doesn't move me.

A live version of 'Strange Kind Of Woman' slows the pace but keeps the adrenalin flowing and highlights the quality of Deep Purple as a live band. The Blackmore/Gillan sound duel shows just what masters these guys are. 'Never Before', which was released as a single, is next up but fails to shine around the other tracks contained herein. 'Black Night' ends side one and is an out and out Rocker. Blackmore's feedback driven soloing and a band at full tilt who are clearly enjoying themselves makes this truly memorable. Side two is devoted completely to live songs and come in the form of 'Speed King', the song every guitar shop hates ('Smoke On The Water') and finally 'Child In Time'. The latter being the most indulgent with its heavily extended guitar solo and Gillan, the "Prince Of Wails" on fire.

I came away having heard the album for the first time educated, happy and knowing that I was hungry to hear more from this band. Today the sound is dated but this incarnation of Deep Purple is perhaps the most pure and undiluted by other influences. It is still dear to my heart after all these years.

Paul Sabin

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by