Concert Reviews

Dan Patlansky http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/2b/57/48/Screen-Shot-2017-05-12-at-212041-83-1494622071.png Hot

Added by James Gaden     May 12, 2017    
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
1053   0   1   0   0   0

Dan Patlansky - O2 Islington Academy 2, London (UK) - 02 May 2017

It was only upon the release of his last two magnificent studio albums, 2014's 'Dear Silence Thieves' and 2016's 'IntroVertigo', that Dan Patlansky started making a name for himself outside of his native country. Hailing from the captivating lands of South Africa, the equally captivating award-winning singer/guitarist/song-writer has visited the UK several times in the last few years, including solo tours and support tours with highly respected acts such as King King and Joe Satriani. Hence it was time to return to keep pleasing his growing fan-base.

His traditional formula of executing his heartfelt music, juggling dynamics to perfection, means he can easily transcend from a pianissimo that silences the venue with awe (and even turn the volume completely off) to a vibrant fortissimo in a matter of seconds. Unlike his previous visits, on this occasion he opted for hiring European musicians to accompany him, and as the humble person he is, he allowed the Germans Felix Dehmel on drums, Jonathan Murphy on bass and Tom Gatza on keyboards to share the limelight on their instruments giving them solo spots.


Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 21.20.41


Opening up with the instrumental 'Drone', Patlansky shows he is in total control of his guitar, and from the next song – 'Sonnova Faith' − onwards lets us hear his raspy and enchanting vocal abilities, focusing on the two albums above showcasing the Rockers 'Stop The Messin' and 'Backbite' to the moving 'Bet On Me'. Extended versions of some of them demonstrate that, as the true artist he is, he plays for the moment and lets himself drift into the ultimate guitar experience.

Although I truly missed the breath-taking 'Madison Lane' from '...Thieves' in the set-list, he replaces it with the equally moving 'Still Wanna Be Your Man' from his latest release, and keeps the older 'Bring The World To Its Knees' and 'Daddy's Old Gun' on the evening's repertoire. The encores come in the shape of 'Loosen Up' and 'Fetch Your Spade', and the South African star abandons the stage to huge acclaim. Yet the imminent question was why was such a small (making it packed and hot) venue booked in the first instance. The good news is that, if all goes to plan, he will return in October in a support capacity for another major act to perform in the larger stages where he belongs. Keep an eye out for dates and a new album, for Dan Patlansky is sure to stay in your music collection for a long time.

Mónica Castedo-López
Photo Credit: Allan Jones

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

 


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle