CD Reviews

Deep Purple - 'Infinite' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 14, 2017    
0.0 (0)
269   0   1   0   0   0





Deep Purple haven't disappointed with another masterclass of performance art.

Another brand new album from Deep Purple and there's no sign of a drop in quality. There will always be arguments about never being able to match the Mk II line-up by some diehards, but equally others recognise that Purple are producing some of their finest music to date. Many will attest to their last record being a prime example of consummate musicianship, clever arrangements, classy lyrics and timeless music. 'Now What?!' was indeed a masterclass of performance art and it begged the question in its very own title.

Four years later, the Purps have given us the answer with 'InFinite' (with the cover depicting the infinity symbol and the stylised title 'InFinite' quite likely an Ian Gillan play-on-words). After all, the latest tour is called 'The Long Goodbye', perhaps reflecting their intention to call it a day in the very near future.

Purple still have the same stable line-up that's been together since Don Airey replaced the ailing master Jon Lord, with his blessing, on the fabulous Hammond Organ for 2003's 'Bananas'. Fifteen years later they're still going strong, although Steve Morse remains the "baby" at the ripe old age of sixty-two!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Time For Bedlam' was released on YouTube and Spotify in December so many may well be familiar with its up-tempo, spunky Rocking flavour that contains all the DP elements in spades, as does the whole album. There's Gillan's masterful storytelling and vocal tone and phrasing, classic Lord-inspired Hammond from Airey and exquisite Rock, Funk and Jazz rhythms from Roger Glover and Ian Paice. This perfect picture is completed by Morse's wonderful tone and harmonics that give a nod to Ritchie Blackmore's steamy Blues-infused Classical calibre technique, melodic invention and his relatively unique wide-finger vibrato, whilst interweaving his own more pentatonic Blues-Rock-Country vocabularies and Classical and Baroque style.

From the swagger of 'Hip Boots' and the raucous 'All I Got Is You' to the eerie, melancholic 'The Surprising' and the Country Blues of 'Roadhouse Blues', 'InFinite' offers a wonderfully diverse and eclectic palette to satiate fans whilst offering invention and technique to musicians.

There is a whole new younger generation getting into Purple these days that were not brought up on the Mk II age – indeed it's been more than twenty years since Blackmore was in DP – therefore they're totally sold on the Morse era. With this, their twentieth career studio release, Deep Purple haven't disappointed with another masterclass of performance art.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 4 hours ago
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us