CD Reviews

Age Of Reflection - 'In The Heat Of The Night' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 14, 2017    
0.0 (0)
794   0   1   0   0   0




Full of top quality, well written, punchy Melodic Rock.

Sweden is definitely the world's breeding ground for high quality Melodic Rock, every month or two there appears a new name on the scene, with the question what can these guys offer? Age Of Reflection are the result of a lifelong dream of guitarist and founder Carl Berglund, who finally got together with bassist Jan Skarming who had been a bandmate in several hardcore Metal acts, to write songs in the style of their first love – eighties American AOR. Recruiting vocalist Lars Nygren, additional guitarist Jonas Nordquist, bassist Jan Skarming and former Seven Tears drummer Michael Sjoo, Berglund has put together his dream line-up. Another masterstroke was getting man of the moment Erik Mårtensson (Eclipse), who appears to have the Midas touch, to mix and master the album.

From the opening keyboards of 'Borderline', you get the feeling that this could be something special, mix this with the multi-layered guitar sound and the solid voice of Nygren, supplemented by choral vocals of the band, you have a song fit to grace any of the major eighties acts. 'The Mirror Never Lies' is a killer of a song that's full of soaring guitar work and perfect harmonies, it carries that wonderful Scandinavian edge to it.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The ballad 'Always' slows the pace down slightly, before we get the wonderful 'Evelyn' with its resplendent guitar solo – it must be a prerequisite of a Melodic Rock debut to have a song about a girl. Other stand out tracks include 'Blame It On My Heart', a more modern sounding Rocker resplendent with some heavy riffs, and the two quality Scandi–AOR tracks that close the album, 'You Are My Light' and the wonderful 'Dying For Your Love'. The phrase "all killer, no filler" is used quite a lot; I can say if you're a fan of high quality Melodic Rock, this expression applies 100% to this release.

'In The Heat Of The Night' is another top notch release from the AORHeaven stable, full of top quality, well written, punchy Melodic Rock. The production is of the highest order and I feel these songs would be absolutely killer live; this band would be a great addition to the festival circuit. I'm in no doubt that this release will finish in many people's Top Ten's this year even considering the heavyweight artists releasing new material this year. To quote H.e.a.t, "There must something in the water"...

Mick Parry

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day ago
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us