CD Reviews

Brother Firetribe - 'Sunbound' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 14, 2017    
0.0 (0)
638   0   1   0   0   0




How many other albums, I wonder, will all-but-guarantee their place in my year-end Top Five at first listen?

Should you be unfamiliar with the Brother Firetribe number 'Wildest Dreams', then I would urge you to listen to it at your soonest convenience. Delivering the stadium-straddling bombast of Queen's finest late-eighties anthems, its four minutes are a tumescent tidal wave of soaring emotive majesty capable of rousing goose-bumps on a mannequin; it's one of the very finest songs that this pair of ears has ever had the pleasure of hearing. So, bar raised high (by the Finnish quintet themselves...), how do the contents of 'Sunbound' measure up to the aforementioned anthem? Well, if I hear another new song as fine as 'Indelible Heroes' this year then I'll be thrilled – synth-driven yet righteously Rockin'... I absolutely love it!

Overall BF's fourth studio album has a strong soundtrack-like dynamic, from the Baywatch-style drums on the opening (instrumental) title track to a brilliant cover of John Parr's 'Restless Heart'. The latter is especially classy as Parr's original version featured in the closing scene/end credits of 'The Running Man' – this reviewer's favourite Arnold Schwarzenegger film.

Elsewhere, 'Taste Of A Champion' was patently written as a Rocky-style homage and, although it verges on fromage, sheer conviction manages to snatch it a victory, while the breezy synthesizers of 'Last Forever' evoke memories of the 'Drive' soundtrack.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Huge credit must go to producer/keyboardist Tomi Nikulainen for the finely balanced mix of eighties atmosphere and contemporary dynamics which, inadvertently, knocks the shine off their still-fine previous release, 2014's 'Diamond In The Firepit'.

Vocalist Pekka Ansio Heino delivers consummately throughout while guitarist Emppu Vuorinen (Nightwish) arguably lays a claim to shaping much of Brother Firetribe's signature sound, thanks to his crisp, song-focussed virtuosity. In the engine room the rhythm section of Jaakko Flinck and Hannes Pirilä (on bass/drums respectively) keep things motoring with the power of an AMG V8.

'Sunbound' is only the third of many albums that I'll be reviewing for Fireworks in 2017 – how many others, I wonder, will all-but-guarantee their place in my year-end Top Five at first listen?

Caesar Barton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us