CD Reviews

Ayreon - 'The Source' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 15, 2017    
0.0 (0)
643   0   1   0   0   0





Another astonishingly rich album from one of modern Prog, nay, modern Rock music's most creative talents.

Hot on the heels of 2016's live release 'The Theater Equation', Arjen Anthony Lucassen is back with a new studio tour-de-force and the kind of musical ambition that simply makes your jaw drop. The surprise this time, for those of us who thought the 'Forever/Planet Y' saga ended with '01011001', and who enjoyed the more modern day focus of 'The Theory Of Everything', is that Lucassen has returned to his science fiction theme with what's said to be a prequel.

The story of 'The Source' is set a notional six billion years ago with Planet Alpha in political and ecological crisis, and the Alphans seeking solutions from their global computer mainframe. The "Frame" concludes that the planet's problems are caused by the Alphans themselves and that they must be exterminated. They seek to escape their fate by sending the chosen few to seek a new planet on the only ship they have capable of making such a journey – in the process condemning them to live with the anguish of having left families, friends and the rest of their people to almost certain doom.

The unfolding story is told in just under ninety minutes, through seventeen tracks of typical intrigue and breadth. Lucassen has described 'The Source' as his "Rock album", and overall it's certainly heavier and more guitar-based in parts than other Ayreon material. That's not to say it's one-dimensional, as the Folky 'All That Was', the flutes of 'Deathcry Of A Race', the AOR vocals of 'Journey To Forever' and the spacey synths of 'Planet Y Is Alive!' and 'The Human Compulsion', for example, testify.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Lucassen uses twelve vocalists on the project, and, in a break with his usual approach, conscripts a number (around half) who have performed on past albums. The performances, as usual, are top notch with notable contributions from the likes of James LaBrie (Dream Theater), Simone Simons (Epica), Mike Mills (Toehider), Floor Jansen (Nightwish), Tobias Sammet (Edguy, Avantasia) and Tommy Karevik (Kamelot). Beyond the vocals, Ed Warby again provides drums, with guitar contributions from Paul Gilbert (Mr Big) and Guthrie Govan (The Aristocrats, Steven Wilson) with guest keyboards courtesy of Marcel Coenen and Mark Kelly (Marillion).

This is another astonishingly rich album from one of modern Prog, nay, modern Rock music's most creative talents. It rewards repeated listens and is a worthy addition to the Ayreon canon.

Michael Anthony

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us