CD Reviews

Mike Tramp - 'Maybe Tomorrow' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 15, 2017    
0.0 (0)
603   0   1   0   0   0







Some of the most relevant and damn fine music in his thirty-plus year history.

When Mike Tramp released his Folk-orientated 'Cobblestone Street' acoustic-based album in 2013 it marked the start of a trilogy to show, in his own words, who he is and where he stands. 'Museum' re-introduced more instrumentation to the Folk sound, but 'Nomad' brought things full circle and returned to the rootsy Rock 'n' Roll style that Tramp first embarked on with his initial solo album 'Capricorn' in 1998. Whether that intended trilogy has now been expanded to become a quadrilogy is unclear, but 'Maybe Tomorrow' picks up exactly where 'Nomad' left off.

Once again created alongside his long-time partner, guitarist and producer Soren Andersen, '...Tomorrow' is once again a full band album featuring bassist Jesper Haugaard, drummer Morten Hellborn and keyboardist Morten Buchholz.

The Rock 'n' Roll equivalent of a sponge, Tramp has absorbed everything that life has thrown at him and reinterpreted it into song with highly personal lyrics that encompass everything from his family to the trials and tribulations of the music business. While lyrically this is often sombre and reflective, the music is anything but, with some of the most melodic and uplifting tunes Tramp has delivered to date.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Aside from the sparse piano ballad 'Time And Place' and the soaring ballad 'Maybe Tomorrow' that demonstrates the pinnacle of Tramp's lyrical genius, '...Tomorrow' is a lively and upbeat affair. Opener and first single 'Coming Home' is a peach of a tune with echoes of the classic 'More To Life Than This', while 'It's Not How We Do It', 'Spring', the Rocking 'Why Even Worry At All', mid-tempo 'Would I Lie To You' and the tougher-edged 'Leaving One Day' are all blessed with huge hooks and highly melodic choruses. The awesome 'Rust And Dust' might, just might, be Tramp's finest song since the White Lion days.

As his tenth solo album, 'Maybe Tomorrow' is another great record in a consistently strong period, though probably unlikely to win Tramp too many new fans at this late stage in his career, with many people still yearning for the WL sound of the eighties. Get over it, it ain't gonna happen, embrace what Mike Tramp is all about now because he is currently in a satisfyingly consistent period making some of the most relevant and damn fine music in his thirty-plus year history.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our RevĂ­ews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us