CD Reviews

Quinn Sullivan - 'Midnight Highway' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 15, 2017    
0.0 (0)
290   0   1   0   0   0



The song-writing, playing and singing accomplished by Quinn Sullivan here belies his age.

The name Quinn Sullivan may not be familiar to many, but his guitar playing proficiency that's to be found here is sure to guarantee he has a great musical career ahead of him. Massachusetts born Sullivan, now seventeen, has been playing for around a decade and shared the stage with an impressive list of Blues greats including Eric Clapton, Joe Bonamassa, BB King and Buddy Guy. This is his third studio outing and sees him flexing his muscles in a more commercial direction whilst staying true to his roots.

'Something For Me' kicks in with its overdriven Blues groove and Honky-Tonk piano that conjures up an image of a band on a stage in a Memphis bar having an absolute blast – 12-Bar Blues at its best! The "radio-friendly" 'Tell Me I'm Not Dreaming' takes a Pop Rock direction in a similar vein to The Rembrandts and shows Sullivan's clear warm voice working well. The title track slows the pace and introduces a Bluesy Country flavour as found on the early Eagles albums. The quirky 'Crazy Into You' ventures into new territory with its interesting rhythm accompanied by Sullivan wringing out screaming riffs and great lyrical content.

Much of Sullivan's inspiration comes from his mentor Guy, but his style has not been constrained to the classic Blues genre and the track mix here is refreshing. Producer Tom Hambridge has done a fine job in making the album sonically spacious and the track sequence holds plenty of surprises.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Lifting Off' and 'Graveyard Stone' propel us into the Disco/Funk of the seventies and blends with the Pop commercialism of the eighties thus making these tracks truly inspirational. 'Rocks' has a British feel – perhaps a modern Kinks sound and really gets the blood pumping. Sullivan is a lover of The Beatles so it's not surprising that he plays tribute to that with 'While My Guitar Gently Weeps' which is scarily close to the original. The instrumental 'Buffalo Nickel' ends the album showcasing Sullivan's guitar tone, feel and emotion. The sheer mastery of his instrument in one so young is nothing short of astounding.

Every track to be found here has merit and can stand up on its own. The song-writing, playing and singing accomplished by Quinn Sullivan here belies his age and one can only wonder what he will produce in the future. Either way it's sure to be good!

Paul Sabin

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 57 minutes ago
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us