Wolfpakk - 'Wolves Reign' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/86/ca/26/wolfpakk-wolves-reign-39-1495133540.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 18, 2017    
0.0 (0)
436   0   1   0   0   0






One of the best examples of German Melodic Metal that we'll get this year.

Fresh from his involvement with not one but two German Hard Rock "super-groups", Rock Wolves and Phantom V's guitarist, singer, song-writer and producer Michael Voss is back with another album. Alongside his collaborator Mark Sweeney from Swiss Rockers Crystal Ball, this is the fourth, very enjoyable, instalment of their Melodic Metal project Wolfpakk. The format remains the same as the previous records; Voss and Sweeney create the songs and big name singers and musicians guest, adding their character to the tracks. There are a whopping twenty-six guests in total! However, apart from a couple of guest slots, the effective, pounding rhythm section of Voss and Gereon is a fixture throughout, as are the backing vocals of Voss, Sweeney and Jean Marc Viller. This works well as it gives the record a cohesive feel despite the coming and goings of all the guests.

The opening song 'Falling' features Claus Lessmann, the ex-Bonfire singer and Voss's recent band-mate in PV. It's heavier and more Metal than that band and is a great, energetic start to the album. The record is at its best on the up-tempo numbers where they come out teeth bared, snarling and thirsty for blood on the likes of 'Run All Night', the Pop Metal of 'Inside The Animal Mind', which is sung rabidly by the Victory man Jioti Parcharidis, and 'I'm Onto You' where ex-W.A.S.P. man Chris Holmes pops up.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Oliver Hartmann sung 'No Remorse' and the Steve Grimmett (Grim Reaper), song 'Scream Of The Hawk' have a satisfying Avantasia-like bombast about them. The American Indian chanting on the unmistakable, Biff Byford-fronted tale of Sitting Bull entitled 'Blood Brothers' adds a further dimension. When they take their foot off the gas the songs are less compelling. Having said that, 'Mother Earth' is a strong song with Ronnie Atkins' (Pretty Maids) world-weary delivery and Simone Christinat's otherworldly humming helping to elevate this track above the other slower songs.

When you include other guests who all add their class to the songs like George Lynch, Danny Vaughn, Timo Somers (Delain), Night Ranger's Brad Gillis, Thunderstone's Pasi Rantanen and Rudy Sarzo, you can be sure this is one of the best examples of German Melodic Metal that we'll get this year.

Duncan Jamieson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days ago
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us