CD Reviews

Lioncage - 'The Second Strike' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 31, 2017    
0.0 (0)
758   0   1   0   0   0





This is a band and album that could do with a producer and the album mixed and mastered properly.

Lioncage hail from Germany and comprise of three journeymen musicians from the tribute scene, unfortunately this shows on parts of this record and on the first, second and third listens I struggled with this album. The label blurb says for fans of Survivor, Toto, Journey, Foreigner etc., well this album doesn't come close to any of those.

The mix is a struggle for me, a guitar straight down the middle of every song gives the tracks no separation, something that's very disconcerting. The whole thing sounds like a demo, a demo with a really nice guitar solo sound and a bunch of good bass players.

'Mysterious Angel' kicks things off in a mediocre fashion, whereas 'Lights' takes this album up several levels and is a good song. 'Sunrise' struggles in parts but has its moments, but not many. 'The Other Side Of The Moon' is again another particularly Marmite-like offering, I like the music on it but the vocal melody is at odds with it. 'When Dragons Fall' is the "epic" track which regretfully doesn't sound epic.

Then 'Journeyman' comes along and you wonder why this track hasn't been used as the template for the whole album; this has everything that's been missing so far. It still has a slight amateur feeling but things are looking up. 'Let It In' is another great song with intelligent changes.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Secrets' is the shock of the album, not only is it a really great song but it boasts a brass section, a monstrous bass player and Tim Pierce (Bruce Springsteen, Michael Jackson, Rascal Flatts, Joe Cocker, Rick Springfield, Elton John etc.) ripping the song an outro solo like a beast. This song is West Coast... so West Coast its feet are wet.

'The Inner Circle' tries to keep things going but to be fair it's got a struggle, this is a good song and one that would benefit from a massive chorus which is so close to being there, but isn't. 'Colors' and 'Save The Day' finish off the album, both try their best but they are very generic.

Thorsten Bertermann (vocals), Torsten Landsberger (drums) and Lars König (guitars) are aided by some very good bass players and a bevy of backing singers all of which are sadly lost in the mix. This is a band and album that could do with a producer and the album mixed and mastered properly.

Tony Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us