CD Reviews

The Radio Sun - 'Outside Looking In' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 10, 2017    
0.0 (0)
704   0   1   0   0   1



The Radio Sun continue to impress with their constant improvement and delivery of higher quality material with each release.

A pretty prolific bunch are these boys from Melbourne. Four albums in four years somewhat harks back to the good old days (pre-Def Leppard) when bands went into the studio for six weeks, toured for a year, then returned to the studio for another six weeks to record the follow-up. However, productivity is one thing, the ability to deliver a constantly improving album full of high class material remains the benchmark irrespective of work ethic.

The Radio Sun are one of those bands who temper moments of sublime brilliance with some less stellar moments that somewhat takes the shine off the overall product. If you're unfamiliar with TRS, they play good old fashioned AOR/Melodic Hard Rock, producing mostly upbeat party anthems that demand you to sing-along and play air guitar; think DL meets Danger Danger with a little Winger thrown in for good measure. Their music is full of riffing guitars, hugely sing-able choruses, backing vocals and multi-layered arrangements that some of the genre's more established acts should take note of.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

For all the many excellent highlights on this album, and there are plenty ('Can't Get You Out Of My Head', 'Standing On The Edge Of Love', the utterly superb 'Switch Off The World Tonight', 'My Heart Is On Fire', 'Broken' and the wonderful 'Baby Blue'), there are sadly some moments that dull the sparkle. The more up-tempo tracks such as 'You'll Never Know' and 'Fall To Pieces', apart from the backing vocals, sound like a completely different band. It's not that they're bad songs, they just don't sit properly with the rest of the album's material and as a result slightly tarnish the overall listening experience.

The Radio Sun continue to impress with their constant improvement and delivery of higher quality material with each release. This album contains fourteen tracks, but dropping the three out and out Rockers and cutting back to eleven would have seriously moved this into the big leagues with an early shot at "Album Of The Year". Apart from that dip on quality control, 'Outside Looking In' is, for the most part, full of sunshine anthems like they used to do back in the day – a rarity itself in this day and age. These guys continue to improve, and perhaps paying a little more attention to detail in the QC department next time around will help them deliver "the" album. They're not far away at all.

Kieran Dargan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 2 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us