CD Reviews

Opus Doria - 'The Compass Rose' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 24, 2017    
0.0 (0)
565   0   1   0   0   0




This album offers up an absorbing palette for the more discerning amongst you.

I reviewed Opus Doria's second album 'A Day On Earth' back in 2014 and gave it quite a glowing reference (their first 'Infraworld' having come out in October 2011). Now here we are, slightly belatedly, reviewing album number three which was released last October.

So what's new with OD then? In personnel they've gained a new young guitarist in Roman Rouzine, who has replaced Bruno Rodrigues, and added a few more special guests to the party in trumpeter Richard Desperes and acoustic/Classical guitarist Christine Lanusse. Pascal Jean, with his wind instruments (most notably the oboe and English horn), has been invited back but there is some confusion whether or not Gurvan Guillaumin, with his Uilleann Pipes and whistles, and violinist Delphine Labandibar are new band members or guests. How-so-ever, they are all masters of their instruments and there is absolutely no question of the quality of the playing involved. If one remembers, most of the players are teachers of their instruments in their own right.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Pianist and keyboard player Laura Nicogossian composes all the music and lyrics (as before) with the whole band handling the arrangements. As was the case on the previous album, nothing jumps out at you with immediate clarity. Some of the songs seem incredibly ambitious in their nature and come across as rather convoluted in the process, however, much as before, they need absorbing over a period of time to gain recognition. Mezzo-Contralto Christel Lindstat possesses a fine range and power with her showcasing both Operatic and conventional singing, although the lyrical phrasing in places seem misplaced, albeit probably deliberately, which I feel sometimes detracts from the song.

'Enigma', 'Frozen Flame' and the piano/violin-led title track have all been recorded on video and can be found on YouTube which I feel gives a better demonstration of the ambitious nature of the pieces. The Arab-esque (Moroccan?) flavour of effective instrumental 'Fire Horses' (with Lindstat giving her best Tarja Turunen impression) is rather absorbing, the thematic instrumental 'Stars Reflections On The Waves' provides lush soundscapes and the Uilleann Pipes on the Progressive instrumental 'Ghost Odyssey' add a nice flavour to what are exquisite compositions. When added to the more conventional song melody of 'Heavenly Crossroads' and the more abstract 'Tierra De Sangre' ('Land Of Blood'), which is sung in Spanish with accompanying Flamenco trumpet and guitar, this album offers up an absorbing palette for the more discerning amongst you.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us