Concert Reviews

Kiss Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 30, 2017    
0.0 (0)
848   0   1   0   0   0



Kiss - O2 Arena, London UK) - 31 May 2017

This is the first full UK tour since 2010 with the line-up still consisting of founder members Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley, alongside Tommy Thayer and Eric Singer in Spaceman and Cat make up respectively. The bombastic opening number 'Deuce' has the band coming down on a platform from above. The make up hides the bands aging years well and it could be 1977 all over again. What is surprising (and encouraging) is the fact that for many of the audience this is their first Kiss show – the older generation now arriving with their offspring in tow.

After 'Shout It Out Loud', they do the UK proud with a respectful moment of silence for the tragic terrorist act that occurred a few days before, resulting in the cancellation of the Manchester tour date.

Kiss Live London 1

Much has been said recently about the state of Paul Stanley's voice. It is true he has lost a lot of his upper register, and he clearly struggles on certain songs like 'Firehouse' and 'I Was Made For Loving You', but for a man staring seventy in the face, he is still an absolute legend, and his moves and his charisma still make him the "Starchild". Simmons may not have the moves, but his voice and demonic character have lost none of its evil charm. During 'God Of Thunder' he is bathed in green light, and spitting blood, as an ominous bell strikes in the back ground, he then rises to the ceiling to the delight of the Kiss Army.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The set-list these days is quite formulaic, though the inclusion of 'Flaming Youth' and a spirited 'Say Yeah' made this long term Kiss fan very happy.
I have never got used to Thayer doing 'Shock Me' or the guitar solo piece, especially since the song is about former guitarist Ace Frehley. The solo mimics his predecessor a little to close for comfort, but that said, for many they only know Thayer as the Kiss guitarist and have no comparison.

Kiss Live London 2

'Psycho Circus' and 'Black Diamond' give Stanley a chance to swing out to the centre of the arena on to a rising podium where upon he dances and sings to the fans at the back. Notable omissions on this tour is the dropping of anthem 'Love Gun', no drum solo, and a shorter set-list, though no one leaves feeling let down.

Of course 'Crazy Nights' has to be played, as it was a huge hit in the UK. With confetti cannons going off during 'Rock And Roll All Nite', the arena looks like a giant snow-globe. Simmons and Thayer rise over the audience on platforms during finale 'Detroit Rock City' to tower above the smiling faces and hands held high in the air to celebrate the hottest band in the world... Kiss.

Ray Paul

Kiss Live London 3

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 14 hours, 43 minutes ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us