CD Reviews

Holon - 'The Time Is Always Now' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 03, 2017    
0.0 (0)
582   0   1   0   0   0





A coherent, engaging and very well put together album from an artist who is clearly a creative force to be reckoned with.

Holon is the solo project of Ronny Pedersen (guitars, vocals, bass, sitar and programming), with more than ample support from Rhys Marsh (vocals, pedal, steel and bass guitar and assorted keyboards) and some occasional guest musicians. Pedersen is responsible for the song-writing here and Marsh the production, mixing and mastering.

'The Time Is Always Now' is a Progressive Rock concept album as deep and meaningful as anything you'll find this side of 'The Wall'; exploring, as it does, themes of man's place in the universe, the nature of the self and "the oneness of all". Narrative preambles in the lyric booklet help explain the concept as you go, ensuring that the album provides both a lyrical and musical journey for anyone who wants to climb aboard.

Opener 'The Belly Of Being' is a slow burner which exemplifies Pedersen's approach to song-writing, with multiple sections building to a strong (and sometimes loud) conclusion. That's certainly true of the excellent 'The Times They Are A-Taming', which, having referenced Bob Dylan in the title, majors on striking Von Hertzen Brothers style harmonies and big seventies guitar riffs.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

There's more apparent VHB vocal influence in 'Time To Go', which has an expansive, experimental feel and exhibits Pink Floyd moodiness and some ultra-cool Hammond work amid shifts in pace and heaviness. Similar in vibe is the title track which clocks in at over eleven minutes, integrating touches of Electronica and additional vocal drama to many of the hallmark sounds of previous tracks.

A strong feature of the album is the use Pedersen makes of female or blended male/female voices. This is particularly effective on 'Dancer In The Sky' and 'Two Grains Of Sand' which incorporate some of the album's strongest melodies (Silje Leirvik and Kari Harneshaug take a bow). At times, the material could, perhaps, benefit from a firmer "editorial" ear. There is something to be said for keeping the overall listening experience in mind, even if that means losing a minute or two here and there, and after the powerful and rousing crescendo of the title track, closer 'A Drop Of Me' feels a bit like an add-on. Similarly, there are places, 'Falling' being a case in point, where influences are perhaps too evident and linger a little too long.

However, generally, this is a coherent, engaging and very well put together album from an artist who is clearly a creative force to be reckoned with.

Michael Anthony

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day ago
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us