CD Reviews

Krokus - 'Big Rocks'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 03, 2017    
0.0 (0)
151   0   1   0   0   0






Definitely a release for completest, hardcore Krokus fans only and one that could have been so much better with a bit of thought.

Swiss Metal masters Krokus have decided, after forty plus years, to release an album of songs that were an influence in their formative years. Formed in 1975 and releasing their self-titled debut a year later, the band stayed under the radar until the band changed front-man and recruited Bon Scott sound-a-like Marc Storace in 1979, shortly after the first of the three classic Krokus albums 'Metal Rendez-vous' was released. This was my introduction to the band when Tommy Vance played the classic 'Bedside Radio' on the Friday Rock Show and the rest is history. Despite numerous line-up changes, Krokus have continued with the voice of Storace and heavy guitars being the signature sound.

The line-up that recorded 'Big Rocks' contains four members of the "classic" Krokus formation – namely Storace, guitarists Fernando Von Arb and Mandy Meyer along with bassist Chris Von Rohr – who are ably assisted by additional guitarist Mark Kohler and drummer Flavio Mezzodi. The album comprises of the Krokus take on well-known classics from the sixties onwards.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The big surprise for me is the lack of an AC/DC cover as the early sound was definitely influenced by them. The problem I have is the songs chosen are all classics and to me have been covered many, many times and unfortunately the versions here bring nothing new to the table. There are only so many versions of 'Summertime Blues' you would like to hear in a lifetime.

I would have much preferred new material as I think sometimes cover albums are a cop out or an easy win, but for the life of me I see little artistic merit in these. These songs obviously mean something to the band but to do straight copies is not the smartest move. There are a couple of good versions like 'Quinn The Eskimo' (it must be a Swiss thing as Gotthard have also covered this) and Queen's 'Tie Your Mother Down'.

This is definitely a release for completest, hardcore Krokus fans only and one that could have been so much better with a bit of thought.

Mick Parry

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 hour ago
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us