CD Reviews

Magnum - 'The Valley Of Tears'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 03, 2017    
0.0 (0)
180   0   1   0   0   0





A great retrospective of some of Tony Clarkin's more emotional compositions.

'The Valley Of Tears' sees Magnum drawing together a selection of their finest ballads. Whether we need another Magnum compilation is debatable; this is their second since their 2002 reincarnation (following 2011's 'Evolution' set), yet it's distinctly more than a hastily cobbled together collection, featuring numerous re-recordings and re-mixes. This release also serves as a somewhat poignant closing of a large chapter in their career as its announcement coincided with the departure of long-standing keyboardist Mark Stanway.

Largely culled from their post-2002 output, 'The Valley Of Tears' takes its title from a song from 2014's 'Escape From The Shadow Garden' and also includes 'Dream About You' ('Breath Of Life'), 'A Face In The Crowd' ('Into The Valley Of The Moonking'), 'The Last Frontier' (The Visitation') and 'Putting Things In Place' ('On The Thirteenth Day'). Though the dust has barely settled on 2016's 'Sacred Blood "Divine" Lies' album, it's stand-out cut 'Your Dreams Won't Die' also merits a worthy inclusion.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The compilation also reaches back to the 'Sleepwalking' (1992) and 'Rock Art' (1994) albums for two re-recorded offerings ('Broken Wheel' and 'Back In Your Arms Again'), along with two selections from the classic 'Vigilante' opus, namely an acoustic version of 'Lonely Night' and a live recording of 'When The World Comes Down'.

You could nit-pick and question the absence of anything from the 'Princess Alice And The Broken Arrow' album ('Thank You For The Day' would have been great) or even wonder why they didn't go the whole hog and make it a complete ballad anthology and include a revisit of 'It Must Have Been Love' or the immortal 'Les Morts Dansant'. That said, it's still a great retrospective of some of Tony Clarkin's more emotional compositions, and while not exactly an essential purchase, the music in itself is pretty damn faultless.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 hour ago
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us