CD Reviews

Edguy - 'Monuments' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 04, 2017    
0.0 (0)
454   0   1   0   0   0






A superb retrospective.

There are basically two types of "Best Of..."/"Retrospective" releases in my book. The first is just a shameless cash in with little or no effort put in (regardless of whether it is supporting a landmark) – I understand yet another bloody Foreigner compilation is due – that ultimately amounts to nothing more than a cynical attempt to leverage yet more dosh out of the band's fans (Dick Turpin at least had the decency to stick a gun under your nose first!). The second is a genuine labour of love designed to celebrate some particular achievement or milestone event in a remarkable career; thankfully 'Monuments' falls into the second category.

Launched back in the dark days of the early nineties when the flannel shirt brigade ruled supreme, Edguy were the very antithesis of mainstream cool at the time, yet the very fact that we're celebrating their 25th anniversary with this release speaks volumes to the timeless durability of their music. I've always viewed them as Germany's answer to Iron Maiden (and yes, that's meant as a massive compliment!) with a nod to Helloween and a hint of Queensrÿche, their innate sense of fun balancing perfectly with an, at times, über sophisticated take on a modern Melodic Metal sound.

Released as a lavish 2CD/DVD set (you should see the limited edition version with the book!), 'Monuments' pulls together new songs, old songs and a never before released rarity from the early days... and that's just the CD's! Here you will find the stunning 'Tears Of A Mandrake' (Edguy at their sophisticated best in my opinion) next to tongue-in-cheek cuts like 'Lavatory Love Machine'. Album openers 'Ravenblack' and 'Wrestle The Devil' prove that, if anything, they're getting better moving forward (the former especially is one of the best new songs I've heard from them since the 'Mandrake' album).

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

However, that's just the tip of the iceberg when you've got a jewel encrusted back catalogue to celebrate, with Edguy classics such as 'Vain Glory Opera', 'Babylon', the smouldering 'The Piper Never Dies' and 'Land Of The Miracle' showcasing the breadth of moods and styles that make up the collective psyche. Then there's the DVD ...

Pro shot on the South American leg of their 2004 'Hellfire Club' tour, it captures the awesome might of an Edguy show to perfection. "Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to the freak show!" screams front-man Tobias Sammet, the band then launching into a blistering version of 'Mysteria' with all the gusto of Judas Priest circa 'Painkiller'. Then just close your eyes and drink in the sweat-soaked atmosphere of a band borne aloft on the back of a totally partisan crowd... thrilling. Great camera angles, great sound and a mesmerising performance from the entire band make this a remarkable live DVD. As an added bonus, they've also tacked on a complete collection of video clips... ooh, spoilt we are!

A delicious conundrum, Edguy is one of the most significant additions to the Metal scene in the last twenty-five years and this superb retrospective is the perfect way to celebrate that... here's to the next twenty-five guys!

Dave Cockett

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us