CD Reviews

Cheap Trick - 'We're All Alright!' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 04, 2017    
0.0 (0)
746   0   1   0   0   0




CT still sound fresh, vibrant and a damn sight more relevant to the world of Rock than most brand new bands could ever dream of.

After going 'Bang, Zoom, Crazy...Hello' just last year, Cheap Trick make a quick fire return to assure us that 'We're All Alright!'. Following a similar format to its predecessor, this latest outing mixes some brand spanking new songs with a few cuts liberated from the vaults. It's a clever idea, intrinsically linking this release with the current sound the band have cultivated to great effect on 'Rockford' or 'The Latest', while still nodding reverentially to their early days, and the more chart-fixated eighties period. Even more impressive is that CT still sound fresh, vibrant and a damn sight more relevant to the world of Rock than most brand new bands could ever dream of.

The ever-present recording core of Rick Nielsen and Robin Zander lead from the front, the former firing out some tasty lead lines and a selection of irresistible motifs, while the latter continues to defy the ageing process, his vocals still sharp, biting, sweet and seductive. Fellow original, bassist Tom Petersson brings his uniquely tuneful four-string style to the party, while drummer Daxx Nielsen (son of Rick) continues to impress on the drums, even if most long term fans of the band still mourn the departure of founder Bun E. Carlos.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Unlike most bands who've ranked up more than four decades together, what strikes you hardest about this record is just how hungry CT sound, a real sense of urgency infusing the beautiful melodies they're famous for. Lithe opener 'You Got It Going On' shimmies its hips, tips you the wink and then Rocks you all the way between the sheets, while 'Long Time Coming' adds a vicious stomp and deadly guitar solo to the mix. With 'Nowhere' introducing a youthful "Punkiness" and 'Radio Lover' showing the band's heavy Rock 'n' Roll heart, all the CT bases are covered. Yet with 'She's Alright' adding a Poppy playfulness and 'Listen To Me' an intense Melodic Rock vibe, the real danger here is that there might just be an embarrassment of riches.

I can't, hand on heart, tell you that CT are living up to their trailblazing seventies standards, and yet it's a struggle to think of a band who in recent years have released a run of albums as strong as the last four Cheap Trick have released. 'We're All Alright'? You betcha!

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 31 minutes ago
  • Carlafep : You only have to play around with names to attain a best gangster name. Shutting the service off wonat has an effect on the time you've left, so some people decide to run Instamacro for a couple of hours daily. Her family is quite important to her. Get Free instagram followers bot from real people! It was simple to try and compare the variety of followers I had with others in my personal field and become depressed. Adhering to the user supplies you a shoutout, you might observe a re
  • Jeffreyslova : You only have to play around with names to attain a best gangster name. You might also pick the drip - feed option, in that event the followers won't be added all at precisely the same time and instead they'll be given to you gradually daily. Fantastic posts take time to create, so should you end up frequently forgetting it may be time to create a content calendar. Free free instagram auto dm from real people! It's not necessarily realistic to enhance a follower bottom level from the d
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us