CD Reviews

Sainted Sinners - 'Sainted Sinners'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 09, 2017    
0.0 (0)
174   0   1   0   0   0





An album that will satisfy even the deepest thirst for keyboard and organ-infused Classic Rock.

With a name heavily referencing a classic Whitesnake album, Sainted Sinners make little bones about their influences and neither should they. For with the talent of one-time Accept and Bangalore Choir front-man David Reece and Axel Rudi Pell keyboard master Ferdy Doernberg in their ranks, no matter what style this band want to display, you know they can pull it off.

Co-written by Reece and guitarist/band founder Frank Pané, pre '1987' Whitesnake is the starting point for SS to explore a mainly seventies era Classic Rock sound. Everything from Led Zeppelin and Lynyrd Skynyrd to Rainbow and Deep Purple expertly squeezed into tracks such as 'This Love That I Have Found', 'Did You', 'Beauty In The Beast' and 'Maybe She's Got Balls' (which sounds more like a Bon Scott double entendre than a David Coverdale one). However, even with the singer and guitarist writing all the material, it's Doernberg who gets to stamp hardest, his Hammond solos a highlight of the early Purple romp of 'Knight Of The Long Knives', where he and Pané trade licks just like Lord and Blackmore did before them. That doesn't mean that the guitar plays second fiddle, Pané having the class and poise to know when to step forward with some searing fret-work and when to let his band mates shine. Something which is a rare skill in itself.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Completed by bassist Frederick Burkert and drummer Berci Hirleman (the rhythm section from tribute outfit Purpendicular), everything kicks, spins, shuffles and surges in all the right places. The ZZ Top Blues of 'In Need' an unexpected surprise, while 'Shine Diamond Girl' even shows off a lick that reminds of Poison's 'Nothin' But A Good Time', but with a welcome Blues Rock twist! Although, even when cranked right up, Burkert's bass work could do with being boosted in the mix, things often lacking the low end grunt needed to really get the floor shaking. That however is the only real complaint on an album that will satisfy even the deepest thirst for keyboard and organ-infused Classic Rock.

Pané and Reece have both already stated that this is just the start for Sainted Sinners. With their debut effort being as energetically exciting as it is, they've already hit the ground running.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 hours, 54 minutes ago
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Johns Band : Good post for WHO "Tommy" I have order
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us