CD Reviews

Nine Days - 'Snapshots' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 09, 2017    
0.0 (0)
423   0   1   0   0   0







They seem to have gone back to the Pop Rock formula that they had built their original success with.

Anyone who loves high quality American Pop Rock must consider the end of the nineties and turn of the new millennium something of a golden era. The airwaves were rife with the likes of Nine Days, Stroke 9, Vertical Horizon, 3 Doors Down, Train and the Goo Goo Dolls. ND had sealed their success with the huge hit 'Absolutely (Story Of A Girl)' from 2000's 'The Madding Crowd', but then it all started to go wrong.

With a second major label release ready to go in 2003 – the aptly titled 'So Happily Unsatisfied' – inner politics within Sony meant that after delayed release dates ND were dropped and the album never saw an official release. The album eventually leaked and then they posted a free download of it on their website. If anything it was an even better album than the debut, but as with other albums and other artists through the decades, the music counted for nothing. ND went on to independently release 'Flying The Corporate Jet' and officially still together, they followed this with the 'Slow Motion Life Part 1' EP in 2007 and now, ten years later, this album.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Has it been worth the wait? Yes, it has and that's because ND seem to have gone back to the Pop Rock formula that they had built their original success with. Sure, the recording budget can't match that of a major label, but managing expectations doesn't mean that it will detract from your enjoyment. 'Mona Lisa Smile' is like ND of old; consummate Pop Rock with melody and hooks aplenty and there's plenty more on offer in a similar vein. 'Greenlight' is reminiscent of Green River Ordinance, the simple acoustic Pop of the title track conjures up summer days and '2 Straws' is like Train without the schmaltz and dance beat.

True remembrance of ND' past can be heard in the re-recording of their hit 'Absolutely...', aptly suffixed with 'Sweet Sixteen Edition' to commemorate the time that has passed since the original. It remains a terrific song to this day and it's clear, based on the material on this album, that the band could easily replicate the success of the debut if a label were prepared to back them. With several members now ensconced in solo careers, sadly that looks unlikely and the best we can hope for is a new Nine Days album every ten years.

Mike Newdeck

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us