CD Reviews

Midway - 'Low Life' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 09, 2017    
0.0 (0)
624   0   1   0   0   0






An original, positive and energising brand of AOR Rock.

Once a four-piece, now a trio, it seems the change has done Midway good. The Swedish band follows up their infectious 2015 album 'Kickstart Riot' with an up-beat and cheeky collection of tracks in 'Low Life'.

The lead vocalist, Leaf, has taken over lead guitar duties as well as upping his vocal game in the higher registers. 'Right Now' shows off the slightly stronger melodic influences on this album, backed by hard, chunky riffs. 'Love Life' is dominated by drummer Thomsson and driven by Funky percussion. The lead vocals are backed with AOR-style layered backing vocals but off-set, giving a great cross-section of texture.

This time around the band isn't afraid to back off from a wall of sound and it really gives the album a mature, well-thought out feel, as well as making for some great songs. 'Fallin'' is tight and focused while 'Physical' is a catchy combination of full-bodied Hard Rock and Melodic Rock. There are times that the solos and bridges feel disjointed and just out of place, but they're never long enough to detract from a track.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Love Is Just A Night Away' is edged with a Sleazier feel but the chorus is still a fat slice of Melodic Rock; names like Casanova and Hardline jump to mind. '(I Can't Get) Any Younger' plays with guitar fills and great vocalisation from Leaf and there's another strange bridge but the band bursts out of it in style to finish the track.

'Lonely Man's Town' is punchy and strutting but still the band manages to soak the chorus in AOR style. Think along the lines of early H.e.a.t for the smooth combination of melodies and roughened edges. Sure, there are some questionable notes and frown-inducing moments, but the music is fabulously fresh and bleeds unabashed personality.

Overall, this album feels like a logical but laudable step on from 'Kickstart Riot'. The riffs are tighter, the performances stronger and the attitude more assured. 'Low Life' brings out an original, positive and energising brand of AOR Rock.

Sophie Brownlee

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us