CD Reviews

Asphalt Horsemen - 'Brotherhood'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 10, 2017    
0.0 (0)
140   0   1   0   0   0

Though there are a couple of tracks that don't quite hit the mark, there are definitely plenty that make 'Brotherhood' worth checking out.

With an endless number of bands from throughout Europe conveying a truly authentic and convincing Southern sound, it seems that Southern Rock is no longer exclusive to the Americans who invented and inspired the genre. Asphalt Horsemen are from Hungary, no less, not exactly renowned for Rock bands, let alone those of a Southern slant, but with their second album 'Brotherhood' they are another to add to the ever-increasing list of acts to watch out for.

Though their press release suggests a similarity to Black Stone Cherry, I don't feel that AH are anywhere near as heavy or contemporary sounding as the Kentucky foursome, but instead they have a grittier Southern attitude, in a more similar vein to the likes of Pride & Glory, The Four Horseman and Raging Slab. This is particularly true on the Harder Rocking, riff-heavy numbers like opener 'Down In The Dirt', 'Dr. Tease', 'The Sacrifice', 'Connected' and the searing 'Brotherhood'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

However, when they ease off the gas on 'Seize The Day', 'Mill Of Grief', 'My Old Town' and 'Thank You', the groove is more reminiscent of the old-school style of Blackfoot and, obviously, Lynyrd Skynyrd, the latter reinforced by the addition of female backing vocals. They're also capable of tapping into the Blues for the ballad 'December' – an album highlight for me.

Vocalist Károly Lőrincz has the whisky-soaked gravel tones just right for this type of music, without the slightest hint of an accent, adding to the authenticity, and though there are a couple of tracks that don't quite hit the mark, there are definitely plenty that make 'Brotherhood' worth checking out.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 hours, 57 minutes ago
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Johns Band : Good post for WHO "Tommy" I have order
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us