CD Reviews

Beth Blade and the Beautiful Disasters - 'Bad Habit'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 10, 2017    
0.0 (0)
170   0   1   0   0   0

A raw, "in-your-face", straight-forward, concise Rock 'n' Roll album.

A young Female-Fronted quartet from Cardiff, Beth Blade & The Beautiful Disasters have spent the past eighteen months honing their craft touring as support to the likes of Ricky Warwick & Damon Johnson and The Marco Mendoza Band. 'Bad Habit' is their debut album, following the 'Sick Like This' EP, and funded by a PledgeMusic campaign. Recorded in just six days under the guidance of Nick Brine (Thunder, Tyketto, The Darkness), the album is a raw, "in-your-face", straight-forward, concise Rock 'n' Roll album.

Fuelled by a middle-finger-in-the-air, confident attitude and displaying a penchant for rabble-rousing anthems, this definitely will appeal to fans of The Amorettes and Thundermother. Beth Blade possesses a mightily powerful and well-rounded voice while new guitarist Craig Manning is a real talent, able to fire off solos that can melt your face off yet also exhibiting enough restraint when required.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The press release recommends this album to fans of Joan Jett & The Blackhearts and Halestorm, and you can definitely see the influence of the latter in the songs 'Beautiful Disease' and 'Down And Dirty'. Blade may not quite have the lyrical nous Lzzy Hale had at this stage in her career, but that will come; she can do so much better than the likes of the generic 'Hell Yeah!' or 'If You're Ready To Rock' with the ballads 'Poster Girl For Pain' and the excellent 'Angels With A Dirty Face' demonstrating proof of this potential.

A very good start and album number two could well be amazing.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 hours, 53 minutes ago
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Johns Band : Good post for WHO "Tommy" I have order
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us