CD Reviews

Tony Mills - 'Streets Of Chance' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 13, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1473   0   1   0   0   0



'Streets Of Chance' is the Tony Mills album I was hoping for, a return to Melodic Rock and big choruses.

I first saw Tony Mills singing in Shy in 1986, thirty years later we're quite friendly and I'm in the position to be the first person to review his seventh solo album, having enjoying the darker tones of his last release 'Over My Dead Body'. This time around, he's enlisted several talented people to help out and the result is an uplifting album that's hard to stop playing.

Straight away, the tone of the album is set down with the bounce and catchiness of 'Scars', and, as usual, it's a treat to hear Mills' high, powerful vocals on a straightforward AOR track. This is Melodic Rock, no doubts about it, and one of two tracks penned by Robby Boebel. It's one of the highlights of the album, along with the Eric Ragno/Paul Sabu-penned 'Battleground' (which was tweaked by Pete Newdeck and given some pace) and 'When We Were Young' from Vega brothers – Tom and James Martin. From these three songs you can tell that the quality of song-writing guests is high indeed and it really shows throughout. The feel of the album is often very Shy-like (for me, anyway), mainly because it's full of uncomplicated melody and songs that get into your head very easily. This isn't a deep and meaningful record, but it is one that's designed to be enjoyed.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

For the most part, the album follows the rule of thumb with smooth, melodic tracks, but there's a few exceptions. The mid-album song 'Dream On' is the only one that doesn't quite work for me, feeling like it needed more work on some rough edges, while album closer 'Seventh Wonder' changes the style completely with a bombastic marching tone; good for fists in the air but not so much for dancing. It's still a good track though, as is 'Storm Warning' which precedes it, a bouncier offering than the rest that, if anything, could have fitted well on Shy's 'Once Bitten... Twice...' debut.

'Streets Of Chance' is the Tony Mills album I was hoping for, a return to Melodic Rock and big choruses, where the guitar solos are absolutely fine but not the focus of the song, with repeated plays bringing more enjoyment. At times, it made me feel I was a teenager again.

Alan Holloway

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us