CD Reviews

Royal Hunt - '2016' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 13, 2017    
0.0 (0)
933   0   1   0   0   0





This is bloody marvellous, bordering on immense.

It's hard to believe that it's twenty years since I acted on the recommendation to check out a "new" Danish band, Royal Hunt, by buying their '1996' live double album. That release was the beginning of a twenty year love affair with a band that, in my honest opinion, are one of the finest groups to ever commit music to disc. Now fast forward through a few line-up changes and some nine studio albums since then, and you will find RH as powerful, melodic and utterly irrepressible as ever.

'2016 (Live)' sees the band recorded on stage in Russia, a territory where RH have gained massive popularity over the past ten years. The danger here is people will automatically compare this '2016' live release with '1996', which is a bit like comparing apples and oranges. For the long standing fans of the band, there is much here you will be familiar with, particularly such live staples as 'Flight', 'Wasted Time', 'Martial Arts' and 'Stranded'; you will find all these on '1996', in fact, they've all been hardcore staples of practically every RH live set for twenty years. There are two non-D.C. Cooper tracks; 'Lies' which was originally sung by John West (from the 'Fear' album) and 'Army Of Slaves' which was originally voiced by former Yngwie Malmsteen front-man Mark Boals.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Musically in 2016, despite the loss of guitarist Marcus Jidell who is an immense player, all I can say is the transition is seamless and that is possibly the highest compliment I can give to the musicians cast in a "slightly" supporting role of André Andersen and Cooper, the two longest serving members of the band. I could pick out specific highlights on this double album (which is also available as a 2CD/DVD or Blu-ray set) but I shall not bore you with tales of bombastic drumming, intricate keyboards, scorching guitar and earth-shaking bass all topped off with one of the finest voices within Hard Rock. All you need to know is Royal Hunt are at the very top of their game, both musically and visually. The fourteen song album may be a few tracks short for the purists amongst us, however, considering the immense show of talent and superlative song-writing contained, I for one will forgive them for not fleshing it out more. This is bloody marvellous, bordering on immense.

Kieran Dargan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 days, 13 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us