CD Reviews

Black Sites - 'In Monochrome' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 21, 2017    
0.0 (0)
3747   0   1   0   0   0





Heralds the birth of a promising new band.

Admit it, you'd be stunned if Lionel Messi signed for Real Madrid and you'd literally be speechless if James Hetfield quit Metallica and joined Babymetal. Although not quite as jaw dropping, fans of extreme noise merchant Mark Sugar may be equally aghast by his defection to a major label and the glitzy world of heavy-riffing, Progressive Metal. No doubt there will be some shouts of "sell-out"!

When Trials – Sugar's former Metalcore act – called it quits in 2015, he had a clear vison for his next band; clean vocals and classic song-writing informed by old-school Metal, Prog and Hard Rock. Black Sites have fulfilled that goal in style, melding said touchstones together in a way that's classic, contemporary and uniquely identifiable in its own right.

Following ominous instrumental 'M Fisto Waltz', these eight tracks twist and turn like a snake with ADD as different styles and moods colour every song. 'Dead Languages' features a coruscating Dream Theater riff, chunky Tony Iommi groove and a venomous semi-whispered chorus. The thudding title-track echoes Porcupine Tree and Tool, while powerhouse Rocker 'Burning Away The Day' is ignited by a killer hook, incessant drumming and flashes of Rainbow, UFO and Iron Maiden before a lethal, Thrashy finale.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Sugar's compositional skill is a revelation, but the contribution of his band shouldn't be overlooked. Joining him are noted players from Chicago's underground Metal scene, including ex-Trials guitarist Ryan Bruchert – which explains the pair's telepathic and powerful six-string interplay – bassist John Picillo of Without Waves and drummer Chris Avgerin from Nequient and Autonomy.

Their collective understanding and individual abilities (relax... no overtly Proggy noodling here!) are well showcased on the epic 'Hunter Gatherer'. Ambient acoustic picking swells into soaring Queensrÿche territory and builds to a menacing conclusion where Sugar uses his extreme, Trials-esque delivery to striking effect.

The singer's clean vocals initially seem functional and a weak link, and yet there's an authenticity and restless edginess about his pugnacious streetwise attack and haunted crooning that bleeds conviction, offering a refreshingly different, idiosyncratic counterpoint to the maelstrom of sonic thunder raging around him.

Overall, 'In Monochrome' heralds the birth of a promising new band and proves that Sugar's reinvention is, dare we say it, very sweet indeed.

Simon Ramsey

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 12 hours ago
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site