Disturbed - 'Asylum' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 25, 2011    
0.0 (0)
4306   0   1   0   0   0







Disturbed's fifth studio album.

'Asylum' is Disturbed's fifth studio album since the bands debut release 'The Sickness', back in 2000. Now some may question Disturbed's inclusion in the pages of this web site but as the musical lines identifying various styles of rock music become increasingly blurry it's apparent that artists have to be treated on merit, rather than reputation or misguided opinion. Certainly not AOR and not even melodic rock in the truest or most accepted sense, but if the likes of Shinedown and Papa Roach can both be championed by Fireworks then Disturbed in my opinion, are equally worthy of attention. I have to confess that 15 or so years ago I would have dismissed a band such as Disturbed without hesitation (or investigation) yet as I've matured it seems the more AOR/melodic flavoured acts have become both boring and safe. My musical tastes have developed to encompass many bands I wouldn't even have considered worthy of my time and because so many of the acts at the melodic rock end of the musical spectrum are simply studio projects the material cannot be carried forward and performed in the live environment, which is where the likes of Disturbed excel. 

The songs featured on 'Asylum' have an intensity and power that would give the pink & fluffies nightmares, but there is no denying the quality of the melodies and in Dan Donegan Disturbed have a guitarist who isn't afraid to back up some incendiary riffs with some imaginative and soulful solos. 'Remnants' provides a suitably atmospheric introduction to the crushing title track and this short instrumental shows that the band aren't afraid to try something new despite the somewhat unavoidable 'if it ain't broke don't fix it' idiom. 'The Infection' contains some great work from Donegan and though the subject matter is hardly enlightening the hook elevates the material to a level of acceptance bordering on commercial. David Draiman's lyrical themes follow the usual dark & tortured blueprint and his brooding & menacing vocals, fitting the music perfectly, are now distinctly identifiable with the band. The likes of 'Another Way To Die' and 'The Animal' are imbued with equal amounts of aggression and melody, all based around Draiman's trademark vocal attack and Donegan's inspired guitar work. Similarly 'My Child' and 'Innocence, both dark and unsettling yet counterbalanced by some great performances and instantly memorable hooks.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The production and mix simply enhance the messages the songs are trying to convey, highlighting the rhythm section's rock solid foundation and Mike Wengren's drumming being worthy of particular mention. A lack of subtlety or variation is a criticism that can be levelled at 'Asylum' (and possibly all the Disturbed releases) but as the album progresses I still find there is enough quality in the material to keep me interested. The limited edition digipak version of the album features a hidden track which is a nice run through U2's 'Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For' as well as 2 live tracks ('Down With The Sickness' and 'Stricken'). The bonus DVD includes a lengthy and informative 90 minute history of the band as well as an hour long dissection of the guitar work attached to several songs, and is a nice addition to the CD.

On reflection there is an inescapable inevitability to the Disturbed albums so I guess if you were already a fan then 'Asylum' is something of a 'must have'. If you have never experienced the band before then you could do a lot worse than track this round little piece of plastic down.

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 15 hours ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site