CD Reviews

Tommy Heart - 'Spirit Of Time' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 28, 2017    
0.0 (0)
538   0   1   0   0   0





A collection of very good songs.

So here at last after many years of waiting, 'Spirit Of Time', a proper solo Tommy Heart album released under his own name. The album was released in Japan late December and is currently available in Europe through Heart's website. On this solo effort which contains ten (plus two bonus) tracks, Heart has pulled in the talents of many musicians he has worked with previously, including Oliver Hartmann (Hartmann, At Vance), Jonas Reingold (Karmakanic, Midnight Sun), Leif Sundin (Treat) and Fair Warning duo Andy Malecek & Helge Engelke.

The album kicks off with the title track finding Heart's voice in fine form from the start. The special version of this song has Heart singing the verses in Japanese and the choruses in English – good job on the singing in Japanese and it works well for me. All the songs contain catchy hooks which stay in your head long after the song has finished, particularly the almost Poppy 'Do Not Leave This Way', 'Best Times' and 'Catch Me If I Fall', whereas 'Back For More' and 'You And Me' could easily have been found on a FW album. The only real Rocker on the album is 'In The Eye Of The Storm' with guest guitarist Tommy Denander, which, after a gentle keyboard intro, bursts into the opening verse and doesn't hold back with some deft guitar work from Denander.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

A real surprise is the inclusion of The Beatles classic 'Help', arranged as a ballad rather than a mid-tempo Pop song. This is very skilfully performed and certainly allows Heart to express his full vocal range. The songs on '...Time' have a more commercial sound than on previous albums allowing Heart to showcase different styles and influences.

The highlights for me on this release, and these are just what I consider the stand out tracks from a collection of very good songs, are the title track ("special version"), '...Storm' and a special mention for Heart's brave and unusual re-working of 'Help'.

Chris Mee

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us