CD Reviews

Richie Kotzen - 'Salting Earth' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 28, 2017    
0.0 (0)
452   0   1   0   0   0






Builds on Kotzen's formidable existing catalogue with assured, classy style.

Prolific since 1989, Richie Kotzen has only been on this writer's radar for a decade, but in that time he's arguably become my favourite solo artist. Although the name was familiar, I was never a fan of Poison or Mr Big in their original guises and therefore wasn't inclined to check out their post-CC DeVille/Paul Gilbert releases featuring Kotzen on guitar. My introduction came in 2007 when I played a Rock magazine's cover-mounted CD and heard his then-new track 'Fooled Again'; the first listen intrigued me – the second had me spellbound thanks to Kotzen's sizzling guitar prowess, husky-yet-smooth voice and sublime song-writing.

'Salting Earth' is Kotzen's twenty-first solo release (in a career that also includes collaborations such as The Winery Dogs and Wilson Hawk) and is happily a step up from 2015's 'Cannibals', a release that was a patchy mix of fine new compositions and less-great, previously unreleased songs given the odd tweak.

Opener 'End Of Earth' runs for a substantial six minutes & twenty seconds and shares a similarly experimental song structure to 'Help Me' from Kotzen's last truly superb solo release – 2011's '24 Hours'. 'Thunder' is definitively Kotzen in sound and execution, itself evoking 'Love Is Blind' from the aforementioned '...Hours' thanks to its mid-tempo swagger and supercharged Blues dynamics, while the slinky 'My Rock' showcases Kotzen's deliciously deft bass chops (he plays all instrumentation on his solo albums, drums and keys included).

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'This Is Life' drips subterranean speakeasy cool and is about as far from Kotzen's shred-tastic Shrapnel Records debut as his body of work gets – good on him too, as he's forty-seven, not seventeen anymore, and has long since matured into his soulful prime.

'Cannon Ball' perhaps edges it as my favourite track. There's something so persuasive about the way the clean sounding keys and Kotzen's plaintive voice are joined by just the right amount of guitar crunch on the minute mark, while – not for the first time – his lyrics have the uncanny ability to dovetail perfectly with life's events.

Blips, of which there are two, are minor; 'Divine Power' slightly underwhelms, while I was hoping that the twee 'Grammy' (released as a single last summer) wouldn't make the album...

'Salting Earth' builds on Kotzen's formidable existing catalogue with assured, classy style, and it ably makes this writer's top dozen Richie Kotzen releases.

Caesar Barton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us