CD Reviews

Orden Ogan - 'Gunmen' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 28, 2017    
0.0 (0)
427   0   1   0   0   0






Epic, Progressive, anthemic and full of swirling synth and guitar melodies.

I remember how significant Orden Ogan's last album, 'Ravenhead', was to the band because it was a release that defined their major step up to the bigger league culminating in two huge European tours in 2015 with HammerFall and Powerwolf, not to mention the success of the album in their homeland.

Fast forward to now and the stable professional line-up of band leader Sebastian "Seeb" Levermann (guitar/vocals/keyboards) Tobias "Tobi" Kersting (guitar) Dirk Meyer-Berhorn (drums) and Niels Löffler (bass) is still in place after three albums and nearly six years together.

'Gunman' opens proceedings and is fittingly their first single/video with an orchestral key-laden fanfare, heavy rhythms with a melodic guitar refrain and a huge choral chorus sing-along that elevates it to a very memorable status. In fact, I defy anyone after several listens not to be singing along to the chorus! The Western-themed gunslinger in the video is the protagonist Alister Vale, OO's band mascot since their début album 'Vale', and like all previous albums, there is a loose theme of his story running throughout.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Of course, anyone familiar with Orden Ogan will well know that their trademark sound is based on hard and heavy rhythms with huge choruses, so in order not to disappoint, Levermann has filled the entire album with enough orchestral magnificence to fill several symphony halls. The huge melodic sing-along choruses crop up all over the place, but particularly in 'Ashen Rain' and 'Vampire In Ghost Town' with its galloping Western-style rhythms.

Another feature from previous albums is the inclusion of guest vocalists that Levermann uses from time to time, and for this album he's enlisted the services of ex-Theatre Of Tragedy and former Leaves Eyes vocalist Liv Kristine; her beautiful vocal harmonies are used to good effect on 'Come With Me To The Other Side'. The fast-paced galloping rhythms and huge choral chorus making it a stand out song amongst stand out songs and a video release featuring Kristine wouldn't go amiss.

Final song 'Finis Coronat Opus' literally translated means "the end crowns the work" thus "the true value of an undertaking or a work of art cannot be fully discerned until it is finished" – it's epic, Progressive, anthemic, partly sung in Latin and full of swirling synth and guitar melodies, and as such serves as the prototypical song for the entire album.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day ago
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us