CD Reviews

Rhapsody Of Fire - 'Legendary Years' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 28, 2017    
0.0 (0)
258   0   1   0   0   0





It's one thing to re-release your old classics, it's another to re-animate them with completely different members.

What do you do when your vocalist of twenty-one years and your drummer of sixteen years suddenly up-and-leave your seemingly sinking ship of a band merely moments after releasing a career-reviving record? In the case of Symphonic Power Metal legends Rhapsody Of Fire's sole-surviving original member Alex Staropoli, you dust off the records, comb through the tunes and re-record fourteen of your finest tracks from your ground-breaking, five-album scoping, conceptual masterpiece – 'The Emerald Sword Saga' – with your new vocalist and band of merry warriors in tow, holding your middle index digit high in the air for everyone to see.

On 'Legendary Years', ROF return to '...Saga', ripping apart the rule books in which it sat, for a focused series of re-recordings where the classic tracks have been re-traced, re-worked, and re-touched with delicate precision and a sound so polished you'd be forgiven for thinking it was produced by Mr Muscle.

The saga's story follows the journey of the Ice Warrior in search of the Emerald Sword, with which he can defeat once and for all the Dark Lord Akron. It's as traditionally Power Metal as Sunday roasts are British, and yet it is beautifully interwoven together through five albums. Unfortunately, on this series of re-recordings, it kicks off rather euphorically, yet somewhat jarringly, with the titular track of the third instalment of the series – 2000's 'Dawn Of Victory' – and the order fails to realign itself, flip-flopping off into directions unknown, as if re-purposing the story of the saga as much as they have the sound of the songs.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Whilst subtle changes are there to be discovered, discussed, and devoured by old and new fans alike, the most important detail of all is the revitalising touch from the vocal performance of Giacomo Voli. He takes the source material, turns it up to eleven and proves to the hordes of doubters that he is fit to take the throne from long-term vocalist Fabio Lione, bringing new life to his predecessor's whimsical work. 'Legendary Tales' and 'Wings Of Destiny' are highlights of this hit-riddled re-recording and leave you feeling notoriously nostalgic, yet growingly curious at how damn relevant it is.

It's one thing to re-release your old classics, it's another to re-animate them with completely different members, and yet it works so ferociously well.

Jack Press

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us