CD Reviews

Avatarium - 'Hurricanes And Halos' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 28, 2017    
0.0 (0)
311   0   1   0   0   0





Avatarium should be huge and should not be ignored, by anyone.

Widely labelled as Doom Metal, Avatarium could well be missing out on a much bigger fan-base. I say this because the word "Doom" does tend to evoke imaginings of negativity alongside vocals that could test even the hardiest of music lovers. In fact, if it hadn't been for my fellow reviewer, Ian Johnson, this band would've been totally ignored by my good self. Thankfully, I bowed to his experience and took a chance; thank the Lord I did because Avatarium bring so much more to the table.

They already have two EPs ('Moonhorse' – 2013, 'All I Want' – 2014), plus their self-titled debut (2013) and sophomore release 'Girl With The Raven Mask' (2015) under their belt. Yes, the debut was very "Doomy", but still worth investigating, and 'Girl ...' illustrates their progression and eclecticism with its almost theatrical soundscape.

With co-founder Leif Edling (Candlemass) now assuming the role of mentor and creative muse, rather than active band member, Marcus Jidell (Soen, ex-Evergrey, ex-Royal Hunt) on guitars, Lars Sköld on drums, vocalist extraordinaire Jennie-Ann Smith, plus newcomers Mats Rydström on bass and Rickard Nilsson on keys, continue to evolve Avatarium into a disciplined machine from their explosive 2012 inception.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Hurricanes And Halos' immediately impresses as 'Into The Fire/Into The Storm' recaptures the early seventies, in the style of Deep Purple (circa 'In Rock', 'Machine Head'), a pounding rhythm section supports impressive guitar work and the Hammond overlay is inspirational. One cannot ignore the vocal dexterity of Smith; strong and forthright, yet juxtaposed with an angelic timbre that astounds throughout. 'The Starless Sleep' reins things in a touch but its commercial slant ensures another foot-tapping success. My favourite, 'Road To Jerusalem', has an acoustic intro reminiscent of Bon Jovi's 'Wanted Dead Or Alive', it builds into a haunting, soul-soothing minor epic (think Blackmores Night meshed with early Black Sabbath). 'Medusa Child' harks back to their debut; a Doomy affair but simultaneously melodious, however the five minute instrumental outro arguably outstays its welcome. 'The Sky At The Bottom Of The Sea' oozes DP, with a dash of Blue Oyster Cult, and 'When Breath Turns To Air' is a delectably delivered death-bed dirge. 'A Kiss (From The End Of The World)' reminds me a little of Sabbath's 'Iron Man', whilst the short, funereal and instrumental title track brings the opus to a calmative conclusion.

Avatarium should be huge and should not be ignored, by anyone!

Dave Crompton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us