Fireworks

Amy MacDonald Hot

http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/79/bf/cc/Amy-MacDonald-Live-Thumb-1-1504792858.jpg
Written by Central Electronic Brain     September 07, 2017    
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
7616   0   1   0   0   0

Artist

Amy MacDonald - The Omeara, London (UK) - 28 August 2017

With over nine million record sales to date, a fleet of luxury sports cars in her garage and an Autumn tour of the UK just announced, Amy MacDonald played a stripped back acoustic set at The Omeara, London Bridge to celebrate the tenth anniversary of her debut album, 'This Is The Life'.

With a penchant for fast cars - and a growing collection of luxury sports cars to prove it - and over nine million album sales to back her up, Amy MacDonald doesn't play at life in the slow lane. This Celtic Rock songstress had pure adrenaline fuelling her as she played a foot to the floor performance of grace and danger at The Omeara. As this is one of two 'special shows' ̶ the other being Glasgow ̶ to celebrate the Tenth anniversary of her breakthrough debut album 'This Is The Life', this evening's show was tangible proof of her own personal journey from a wide-eyed, raw talent to a savvy and accomplished songstress.


Amy MacDonald - Live 2

The Omeara, an undecorated and stripped wall venue set up under railway arches by Mumford & Sons' Ben Lovett, appeared to be the perfect space for Amy to play an unplugged acoustic set of her own songs. Moreover, without the adornment of production and electric band fills, the nuances in her tunes shone brightly in this dark cellar of a venue.

The accessibility of her edgy stage persona is clearly endearing when she connects with her flock of fans, trading bonhomies from the stage in between her powerful, driven songs. Amy prefaced her songs with more chat than usual, revealing that she has the most pessimistic of mothers who always 'sees the downside of everything' and 'looks at things from rock bottom' so that when it happens 'you won't be disappointed'. This glass half empty point of view inspired her to write 'Prepare To Fall', her strongest song in tonight's set, and this evening's performance proved to be the Big-Mac moment of her stripped back and puckish set. Her powerful delivery of the song's sentiment bounced off the walls in this 350 capacity vaulted hall.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site


The loudest cheers, from her partisan audience, came when she played the songs from her debut album. The warmth from the accompaniment of her three man backing band ensured that these cherished songs retained a raw and ready feel. This gave full rein to Amy's powerful and rounded vocal; something which her loud, amplified electric sets in much larger sold-out venues doesn't often allow her to reveal.


Amy MacDonald - Live

Indeed, there was a slight Americana feel to some of the song arrangements. 'Mr. Rock and Roll' and 'The 4th of July' seemed to channel a Nashville via Glasgow vibe that worked surprisingly well. But it was the smooth rockers taken from her current album, title track 'Under The Stars' and the Celtic lilt of 'Down By The Water', that particularly shifted the through the gears with their pulsating beats.

With a nationwide acoustic tour of larger venues announced, this show proved to be a very successful prelude and finely tuned run out of songs and their new arrangements that puts the spotlight firmly on MacDonald's incredible voice and popular songwriting.

Words by Paul Davies.

Photos by Andy Rawll.


Amy MacDonald - Live 3

Tour dates:

Sunday 29 October 2017 Royal & Derngate Theatre, Northampton, UK
Monday 30 October 2017, G Live, Guildford, UK
Wednesday 01 November 2017, Theatre, Venue Cymru, Llandudno, UK
Thursday 02 November 2017, Parr Hall, Warrington, UK
Saturday 04 November 2017, The Hexagon, Reading, UK
Sunday 05 November 2017, Baths Hall, Scunthorpe, UK
Monday 06 November 2017, Cambridge Corn Exchange, Cambridge, UK
Wednesday 08 November 2017, St John at Hackney Church, London, UK
Saturday 09 December 2017 Deacon Blue, and 1 other Princes Street Gardens, Edinburgh, UK
Friday 15 December 2017, Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow, UK
Saturday 16 December 2017, Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow, UK

For more information, please visit:

http://www.amymacdonald.co.uk

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

 
Powered by JReviews


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  February 2022  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28      

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @bpomper: Could you pls. contact me at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • bpomper : if i bought the hard copy can i also download and if so how
  • bpomper : im checking to make sure my fireworks #98 was sent out transaction ending in 1241
  • Berny : @all: The download version of Fireworks #98 is available!
  • Berny : @RobC68: We really seem to share a love & hate relationship, right? ;) Pls. check your mail.
  • RobC68 : still waiting for download version of #98 to be available.....pathetic service
  • Berny : @iangreenfiel: The magazine is available in a number of WH Smith branches. Could you pls. contact me at «email» ? I will then send you the latest list of participating stores.
  • iangreenfiel : Can issue 97 only be ordered online? I've tried several branches of WHSmith and had no luck
  • Berny : @vialli999: I've just talked to the guys at Fireworks HQ, unfortunately, the print copy of #90 is no longer available. Sorry! :(
  • vialli999 : DO YOU HAVE A PAPER COPY OF ISSUE 90 BERNY ?
  • vialli999 : forget that last comment i found it....der
  • vialli999 : sorry but i must be really stupid how do i take out a subscription ?
  • vialli999 : I have the download i want a paper copy cheers tel
  • Berny : @vialli999: You get issue 90 from our download store. Would you like to purchase a physical copy?
  • vialli999 : STILL DESPERATE TO GET A COPY OF ISSUE NO. 90
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site