CD Reviews

Joe Bonamassa - 'Live At Carnegie Hall - An Acoustic Evening' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 19, 2017    
0.0 (0)
322   0   1   0   0   0

A double disc acoustic affair recorded over two nights at New York's legendary Carnegie Hall.

Way back in the mists of time, or 2007 to be exact, Joe Bonamassa had something of a career changing epiphany; "We went on after Steely Dan at the North Sea Jazz Festival outside of Amsterdam", he told 'Grammy', "thirty seconds after we started, I realised "geez, 'Kid Charlemagne' is still ringing in the room, and we're on". I don't have any songs". That was the beginning of an eight or nine year quest to amass material that really connects to people".

Given that he's one of today's finest exponents of electric guitar wizardry, it's perhaps inevitable Bonamassa's six-string prowess always grabs the headlines. What often goes unnoticed is just what a fine song-writer he's developed into over the last decade.

That much is abundantly clear when listening to his latest live album, a double disc acoustic affair recorded over two nights at New York's legendary Carnegie Hall. Stripped of Les Paul pyrotechnics and the ear-shaking wall of sound his band create, Bonamassa's material takes a starring role and proves that great songs can be presented in a variety of ways.

Not that is his first unplugged rodeo, and fans may be wondering how it differs from his previous acoustic release – 2013's 'Live At The Vienna Opera House'. Where the shows that led to that recording were Bonamassa's first in such a format, he's done plenty of stripped down performances since and, as a result, this effort sounds noticeably more assured and adventurous.

Joined by seasoned musicians from around the globe, Bonamassa and his nine-piece band weave a worldly sonic tapestry that makes for a bigger sonic production than the Vienna gig, with backing vocalists, mandolin, Hurdy-Gurdy, saxophone, cello and more helping to reinvent some of his finest cuts.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Dust Bowl' and its infectious chorus is given a Folk Rock stomp that's propelled by Anton Fig's irrepressible beats. 'Black Lung Heartache' resembles an imperious soundtrack to a Medieval film, the Eastern menace of 'Blue And Evil' pumps out a swinging chorus embellished by bopping backing vocals, and smoky Jazz number 'Livin' Easy' smoulders more than ever.

By unplugging and gifting his lyrics and arrangements room to breathe, as well as adding some delectable instrumental textures, there's an extra emotional resonance to Bonamassa's material. Exotic spices colour the brooding 'Drive', making its misty-moonlit journey hauntingly profound, whereas 'Driving Towards The Daylight' combines weeping cello and banjo to become a mournful Bluegrass number buoyed by spiritual harmonies, and 'The Valley Runs Low' offers soul-saving backing vocals and breezy Country redemption.

As the concert draws to a close, Bonamassa inevitably rolls out some excellent covers, with the highlight being a cracking take on Blind Alfred Reed's Great Depression protest song 'How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live'. It's a splendid showcase for both his impressive backing singers and the wonderful piano work of Reese Wynans.

Perhaps the most telling aspect of this concert is how many great songs don't feature. There's no 'Ballad Of John Henry', 'Dislocated Boy', 'How Deep This River Runs' or 'Happier Times'. The fact they're not missed speaks volumes about the strength of Joe Bonamassa's song-writing and growing depth of his back catalogue. In other words, heaven help anyone following him on stage in 2017.

Simon Ramsey

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us