CD Reviews

Magic Dance - 'Vanishings' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 19, 2017    
0.0 (0)
674   0   1   0   0   0





A fantastic eighties AOR gem.

Magic Dance is the brainchild of multi-talented musician, singer, song-writer and New Yorker Jon Siejka. 'Vanishings' is the sophomore album under the MD moniker and the follow-up to 2014's 'The Mirror Of Dreams'. The debut had an eighties Synth Pop sound similar to A-ha, OMD, etc. However, as first heard on last year's 'Haunting Me' EP, Siejka has made a slight sonic change to the keyboards, introduced a bit more guitar and added some urgency to his vocal delivery and, in doing so, produced a fantastic eighties AOR gem.

If you are a fan of eighties sound, you will be hooked by the time the first chorus of opening track 'Another Lost Boy' hits your ears. Do you remember the first time you heard Strangeways? It just gets better with the captivating 'When We Were Young' and 'The Mirror', by which point you already think that you are listening to something very special. Both opening songs feature excellent guitar solos by Tim Mackey. Siejka vocals are ideally suited to this style of music, in the vein of Nick Van Eede (Cutting Crew) or Dave Lloyd (2am), and he also handles most of instruments with assistance from Kevin Krug on bass throughout. The great mix and mastering is by Jarek Musil.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'I Need A Name' veers a little more towards the Pop sound of MD's earlier material, whilst 'Love Was Not Enough' is the first of two enchanting ballads, the other being the dreamful 'So Far Away from Home'. If you think the first half of 'Vanishings' is good, wait until you hear the second half. Two more Mackey solos appear, firstly on the fantastic 'I Wanna Know' and then on 'Fighting The Fire' which, to my ears, is near AOR perfection. 'Better Than No Hand' is not bad either, and the second of two songs from the 'Haunting...' EP is the spellbinding 'Still Haunting Me'. I don't usually care for instrumentals – especially on AOR albums – however, the bonus track 'Lost' is an enjoyable reminder of those eighties soundtracks; it could easily have featured in an old episode of 'Miami Vice'.

If you're a fan of eighties AOR, then don your shoulder-padded jacket, put on your mirrored shades, slick back your hair and go down to your local record store and order a copy of 'Vanishings'. Alternatively, leave the jacket in the wardrobe and go online and order yourself a copy today!

Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 22 hours, 16 minutes ago
  • TobacTer : Давно искал эту информацию!
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us