CD Reviews

The Unity - 'The Unity' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
569   0   1   0   0   0





The depth of melodic goodness on this self-titled release leaves you feeling hungry for more of the same.

Bounding themselves together through their shared interests, both personally and professionally, Power Metal stalwarts Gamma Ray's Michael Ehré and Henjo Richter have come together outside of their day-job, along with Ehré's Love.Might.Kill cohorts, to tap into their time machine and take us back to the eighties for a Melodic Rock masterclass, via the NWOBHM and Hard Rock highways, in the shape of their self-titled debut.

Opener 'Rise And Fall' is a bold statement, clear as ever, that TU is here to do one thing, and one thing only: express its members undying passion for the genres it plays into and respects. Admittedly, '...Fall' feels as if it is the prologue, a prototypical experiment of sorts, where Ehré and Richter tinkered endlessly and perhaps aimlessly in search of just quite where they sat on the scale of genre as TU.

'No More Lies' removes instantaneously any doubt that The Unity had fallen into the all-too-familiar trappings of a Power Metal rooted super-group, replacing a tendency to hover as close as possible to their source material with an experimental touch, throwing out slick solos that slide across an almost luscious landscape bursting directly into a chorus taken straight from Praying Mantis' rulebook – "No more lies, no more tears, no more pain, no more crying in the rain, no more words, no more lies".

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Whilst '...Lies' and 'Always Just You' hark back and provide memories of Melodic Rock's eighties heydays, the darker NWOBHM tones of the roaring, growling, and pounding 'Firesign' and Iron Maiden-aping 'Close To Crazy' take the things we love so much about the likes of PM, Ten and Magnum and throws them into the modern era, offering something so many bands have tried and failed miserably to do; create a collection of Melodic Rock songs without sounding as if you're searching for the golden days that are long gone.

Closer 'Never Forget' is perhaps the epitome of all that 'The Unity' represents, respects and resonates, acting as a clear-cut bookend showcasing their blend of nostalgic quality and modern necessity. Whilst the likes of '...Fall' and 'God Of Temptation' drop the pace and pummel you almost into sadness, the depth of melodic goodness on this self-titled release leaves you feeling hungry for more of the same.

Jack Press

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 41 minutes ago
  • JoannaNor : Make sure folks see your posts, in addition to for this that occurs, you must make them follow you first. You may be surprised how well that works. You are able to request only once each day. Get Free online instagram bot from real people! It's not necessarily realistic to enhance a follower bottom level from the damage. Even if you prefer new followers you will require some simple count number as proof of your trustworthiness. Now you can just secure unlimited followers within fe
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us