CD Reviews

Art Nation - 'Liberation' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 20, 2017    
0.0 (0)
538   0   1   0   0   0





A well-judged blend of familiar, genre-specific elements alongside a healthy dose of contemporary individuality.

Skid Row did it, H.e.a.t too – once their second singer, Erik Grönwall, had bedded in. What am I referring to? A toughening up of their sound by a young band – in this case Art Nation with the follow-up to their 2015 debut 'Revolution'. I'm speaking relatively mind, as the delectable synthesizers are even more prominent on this release, thus tempering any chance of the added heaviness spoiling an already winning recipe.

'Ghost Town' debuts with a decidedly AC/DC-style riff and a raw "megaphone" sounding vocal effect applied to front-man Alexander Strandell's opening lines; this sets up the lush, synth-powered chorus magnificently in a manner not dissimilar to biting through hard chocolate to discover a velvety praline filling... a technique AN employ to fine effect more than once on 'Liberation'.

'Maniac' is perhaps the pick of the album – a great workout track certainly – with its combination of driving guitars & keys alternating with the moody, bass-driven verse sections, while 'The Real Me' and its combination of punchy dynamics and attention-grabbing chorus strongly echoes the finer moment on 'Revolution'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Kiss Up & Kick Down' has a very contemporary Pop feel and in the wrong hands could sound a touch too mainstream, but – thanks mainly to Strandell's commanding delivery – it manages to win these ears over. 'One Nation' is even better, thanks to its storming, heavily Progressive-sounding instrumentation built on the tightly-knit rhythm section of drummer Carl Tudén and bassist Simon Gudmundsson.

The urgent 'A Thousand Charades' sees the synthesizers turned up to eleven, while closer 'What Do You Want' has a great, slowed-down tempo to the chorus that blends superbly with some cool, eighties synthwave-style keys.

'Liberation' has taken literally one full listen to convince as a worthy follow-up to 'Revolution', thanks to a well-judged blend of familiar, genre-specific elements alongside a healthy dose of contemporary individuality. In addition, if you enjoy Art Nation's two albums, you'd also do well to check out 'Overdrive' by Diamond Dawn, Strandell's former band.

Caesar Barton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 48 minutes ago
  • JoannaNor : Make sure folks see your posts, in addition to for this that occurs, you must make them follow you first. You may be surprised how well that works. You are able to request only once each day. Get Free online instagram bot from real people! It's not necessarily realistic to enhance a follower bottom level from the damage. Even if you prefer new followers you will require some simple count number as proof of your trustworthiness. Now you can just secure unlimited followers within fe
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us