Concert Reviews

W.A.S.P. / Cruel Knives Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 02, 2017    
0.0 (0)
658   0   1   0   0   0

W.A.S.P. / Cruel Knives - Kentish Town Forum, London (UK) - 27 October 2017

Opener Cruel Knives strikes me as a slightly unusual choice to support W.A.S.P.. Their Heaven's Basement heritage harks back to Classic Rock but two new members – including the introduction of Tom Harris on vocals – has indicated a change in musical direction. There's a heavier, more prominent bass line and a lot of echo on the melodic vocals to the point of obfuscation. While there are still traditional guitar solos and the holding of the guitar neck aloft indicating a classic heritage, with songs like 'On The Fucking Leash', there's an anger and bite to the songs which is post Nirvana and definitely millennial, culminating in a collective collapse/microphone crash out at the end. The W.A.S.P. fans are not unappreciative, and the consensus is that this band are decent, but perhaps a bit misdirected at a W.A.S.P. audience.

At sixty-one, Blackie Lawless still cuts an impressive figure with black backcombed hair, black leggings, white buckskin-fringed Native American style boots with white knee pads to match and his black Warlock. Tonight, they have something different planned to the usual W.A.S.P. show, a complete play of 'The Crimson Idol' with the accompanying film recently released with the re-recorded 'Re-Idolised' package. With the heightened emotion and dramatic content of the songs, the result is more of a Rock Opera. However, Blackie sounds fantastic and the London audience is patient and respectful. He is the only band member still around from 'The Crimson Idol' days, but the other members put their backs into it and put as much Metal attitude into the show as the material will allow. Also, it is incredibly ear-destroyingly loud, even through earplugs!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

In order not to distract from the film, there are no gimmicks. It is a pared down performance and Blackie lets the music do the talking with no commentary until the whole thing is over. He has a beautiful, emotional voice capable of evoking great pathos and it is an impressive performance. After that first part of the show is over, Blackie praises the London audience for getting what he was trying to do and not moshing during the performance as happened at another venue that shall remain nameless (he had, in fact, missed one surfer who manager to ride to the front and get kicked out while Blackie was striking a pose with his back to the audience and thus missed the whole incident).

Blackie rewards the London audience with an encore session covering the W.A.S.P. hits. During The Who cover 'Real Me', his trademark wild eyes and finger waggling is back, while during 'LOVE Machine' he hammers his guitar and the vocals are more towards a scream. In 'Wild Child', he throws his arms out to his sides and in bringing his knees up for guitar shreds, he shows he is fitter than perhaps in recent years, whereas in 'I Wanna Be Somebody' he does his teeth-baring face and beats his chest at the audience. If anything, the serious build up to this encore makes it more cathartic and fun for everybody. Nevertheless, by playing 'Golgotha' in this section with scenes of crucifixion behind, he is making the point that he has not lost sight of his newly found faith and that his new music is every bit as good as his old hits. Blackie has always been a "take me as I am" person, including now where he wants to preach about family values and love before allowing everybody, including himself, to let loose with the old hits. Still a phenomenon, without change there is no growth, and I only heard good comments from the crowd tonight.

Dawn Osborne

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us